Roy Elghanayan's Krav Maga

Martial Arts School  in Los Angeles , CA

13347 Washington Blvd
Los Angeles , CA , 90066
  • Martial Arts School in Los Angeles, CA
  • Martial Arts School in Los Angeles, CA
Approved

Roy Elghanayan's Krav Maga

Get directions 13347 Washington Blvd
 
Add to favourites
Los Angeles , CA , 90066
 
Add to favourites
 
 
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Inglewood, CA
Mar 27, 2018

This was my first time doing any kind of martial arts class, and I was extremely nervous walking into the beginner Krav Maga class. Nonetheless, Jessica at the front desk was very sweet and encouraging and the Sensai was kind and attentive. Not being athletic, I felt intimidated by the thought of beginning to learn such an intense, and wide ranging form of defense. However, the sensai breaks down the stances into very accessible steps and provides the necessary guidance to acquire and maintain correct form. He also breaks down the reasoning behind each movement, which helps solidified this beginner’s understanding and recall of each posturing. I will definitely be back for more beginner’s classes and look forward to the increasing challenge and education this studio has to offer. Thanks for a great first class!

12 Total Reviews
4.5 4.5 4.5 4.5 4.5
12 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2

Inglewood
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 27, 2018
Inglewood

This was my first time doing any kind of martial arts class, and I was extremely nervous walking into the beginner Krav Maga class. Nonetheless, Jessica at the front desk was very sweet and encouraging and the Sensai was kind and attentive. Not being athletic, I felt intimidated by the thought of beginning to learn such an intense, and wide ranging form of defense. However, the sensai breaks down the stances into very accessible steps and provides the necessary guidance to acquire and maintain correct form. He also breaks down the reasoning behind each movement, which helps solidified this beginner’s understanding and recall of each posturing. I will definitely be back for more beginner’s classes and look forward to the increasing challenge and education this studio has to offer. Thanks for a great first class!

Los Angeles
5 5 5 5 5
Sep 6, 2017
Los Angeles

Mike's an excellent boxing instructor! He's patient but really pushes you to get down all the details of the technique. He won't let anything slide. His class is a great workout and you'll learn so much!

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 21, 2017

Good experience and people were helpful. I was shy at first, but made me feel welcomed. I recommend to all women.

5 5 5 5 5
Nov 5, 2016

I absolutely loved this class and studio.  The instructor gave everyone the individual attention they needed and was able to manage multiple different levels. This was my first time boxing and I already feel like I might be addicted. It was a great workout and fast paced. I definitely left there satisfied. The customer service was also impeccable and paper work took only about 3 minites.  I will definitely go back to this studio!

5 5 5 5 5
Sep 8, 2016

Absolutely love Mr. Charles! He's so patient and demonstrates and explains technique really well! Sean is super helpful taking you to the side one-on-one! Love the gym! It's clean, the staff is friendly, and there's great energy! Love going for Boxing Beginners classes! :)

4 4 4 4 4
Sep 7, 2016

I bought my classes through Groupon. I thought It would be a great way to try Krav Maga and Kick Boxing. However, the logistic between REKM and Fight2Fitness is not the best. Fight2Fitness doesn't have the updated schedule so ended up going to class a couple of days that they were closed.  So make sure you check the schedule at REKM web page.

Everyone at REKM is very welcoming and nice. They make sure you feel comfortable and confident on your first day. My favorite class so far is Krav Maga and even thought the class was pretty large, the teacher made sure he could walk around to make corrections.

5 5 5 5 5
Feb 23, 2016

My favorite class so far on the fight2fitness package. Despite the large size of the class, the instructor made sure to give everyone personal attention and made sure to push me farther than I though possible.

3 3 3 3 3
Jul 23, 2015

I would like to add, I had booked a class on May 31 but didn't make it, nor did I cancel.

I will give it the same rating as my last entry.

3 3 3 3 3
Jul 23, 2015

I guess I had a preconceived notion of what Krav Maga would be like. I knew it was a form of martial arts but I wasn't aware than anything more than that.

I will preface my review by the fact that I had tried Brazlian Jui Jitsu for the very first time as well, earlier that week, and it was a slow start in the class but I caught on and I liked it. Brazilian Jui Jitsu was low key in that it is at your pace and the practice is more about grappling, using leverage.  The Brazilian instructor Marcus was very nice, although he immediately looked intimidating.

Now back to this review..... Krav Maga was not fun. In fact, I was so intimidated by the loud noise and all the bodies running around that I almost walked out as soon as I walked in. The "Beginner" class had already began and it was in full force.

This is what I can honestly share with you from my first impression.

The sensei was strikingly good looking, and I can tell that he can be a nice person, but during the work out, it was extremely hard to follow him. He spoke very very quickly, half of the time, I wasn't sure what his command was. Seemingly, he was pretty rude. He made a comment about how children can follow instructions but adults cannot - using me as some kind of example. Also, it seemed like his directions were random albeit I'm sure he has a class structure.

Having said that, it was pretty difficult to keep up with this "Beginner" class. Ok, it was my fault that I was late to the class so I missed the introduction...... HOWEVER, I have NEVER felt SO LOST in an introductory class. The directions were short and sweet yet said nothing regarding so much technicality. We were supposed to do round house kicks, which I've only seen in movies, and he didn't break down HOW to do the kick.

Finally, Kudos to the young African American woman (also a "beginner" student) who took the time to explain to me the techniques and the process. Thankfully, she had 6 months of training (she didn't act or look like a beginner though, so I'm wondering what the heck she was doing in the class).  It was almost as though sensei didn't have the time or the interest in teaching me how to correctly do anything in his class.  I was very discouraged.

Hell, I almost cried when my partner had to keep stopping me, while I'm in motion, to show me the correct to do the moves. I HAD TO KEEP STOPPING FOR 20 MINUTES STRAIGHT JUST FOR MY PARTNER TO SHOW ME WHAT I WAS DOING WRONG! The only technique I learned was the fighting stance and I don't think I learned that too well either.

This class was very discouraging. The only motivation to return is to see if I can keep up but guess what, I can go back to Brazilian Jui Jitsu for that.

I felt like a fish out of water, and everyone was just watching me flop around.

The music was too loud, and I felt like there should have been beefcakes milling around because the environment was very much a la Gold's Gym.
Also, I thought I had walked into the wrong gym at first because it was located next to a medicinal marijuana store front.

I'm not so sure I will be returning to this class/venue. I don't mind a challenge but I felt like I didn't belong there. In order for me to learn best, I need visuals, I need verbal step-by-step, I need the attention paid to me to make sure I'm training correctly. I ultimately need to feel welcomed.

The young lady at the front desk wasn't interested in getting me to become a member, it appeared that she just wanted me to get out of her hair.

I think this would be a great work out for me when I was in my late teens or early 20's when I was a bit more resilient and full of anger. I'm in my 30's and my main concern is maintaining my healthy body, to include balance, but I'm not so much into learning how to snap someones neck. However, if I change my mind, I know I can attend this class.

I am almost tempted to take the class at another venue to see the difference in instruction by the sensei so that I don't feel like a partial/complete failure when I walk out of class.

Los Angeles
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 29, 2015
Los Angeles

I took the class for boxing. It was really fun. The instructor was helpful and direct on the proper way to do things like stances and the way I was throwing punches. I went there thinking I would just be learning basics but I actually got a really good workout. I would definitely go again!


Pages: 1 2
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Inglewood, CA
Mar 27, 2018

This was my first time doing any kind of martial arts class, and I was extremely nervous walking into the beginner Krav Maga class. Nonetheless, Jessica at the front desk was very sweet and encouraging and the Sensai was kind and attentive. Not being athletic, I felt intimidated by the thought of beginning to learn such an intense, and wide ranging form of defense. However, the sensai breaks down the stances into very accessible steps and provides the necessary guidance to acquire and maintain correct form. He also breaks down the reasoning behind each movement, which helps solidified this beginner’s understanding and recall of each posturing. I will definitely be back for more beginner’s classes and look forward to the increasing challenge and education this studio has to offer. Thanks for a great first class!

Business Hours *

Martial Arts School HOURS*

Monday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
Open10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Sunday
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.