Urban Evolution Alexandria

Fitness Studio  in Alexandria , VA

5505 Cherokee Ave
Alexandria , VA , 22312
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA

Urban Evolution Alexandria

Get directions 5505 Cherokee Ave
 
Add to favourites
Alexandria , VA , 22312
 
Add to favourites
 
 
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Arlington, VA
Mar 7, 2020

I’m taking the Silks training level 1 and I love it! The trainer for my first class was supper supportive and Awesome!
I bought the membership and plan to keep taking classes.
Thank you!

156 Total Reviews
4.88 4.88 4.88 4.88 4.88
156 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 ... 16

Arlington
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 7, 2020
Arlington

I’m taking the Silks training level 1 and I love it! The trainer for my first class was supper supportive and Awesome!
I bought the membership and plan to keep taking classes.
Thank you!

4 4 4 4 4
Mar 4, 2020

The place is really nice, I’m taking aerial silks classes. The teachers are really nice and the environment in the open trainings is really nice.
The silks have different textures, so you can prove and found one that makes you feel good. The curriculum is really complete and I hope to better my skills here.

4 4 4 4 4
Feb 17, 2020

I took intro to silks (I think ages 9+) I got lucky and my interest called at the right time so got a free class

Part of me worried I'd be the sole adult but it was fine. I might have been the oldest (42) but def not the only adult and not the only one who came alone

Instructor was positive but not annoyingly peppy. I couldn't climb...but neither could a few others. Using a knot to lean back (closing the two silks into a loop), I did shift from a backpack to an inverted straddle which felt good). Instructor wandered the small room (6 pairs...one group of two gal friends shared)

I can tell i got an upper body workout. I'm working to get back into my tmill habit (speedwalking) but also need strength...esp as I age (frankly, 42). I bought a 10 visit punch card (if I can time it well, a punch is a visit so I could do silk and try into to parkour (love the 35+ class idea but  may not fit w silks)

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Thanks for giving us a try, Cheryl! And you're welcome to join the 401PK class as well; the two are definitely complimentary. Rest up, and we'll see you at the gym soon!

Kansas City
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 16, 2020
Kansas City

My husband and I just completed our first Intro to Parkour class with Salil. I was a little overwhelmed at first with the chaos around me, but that seemed to mostly be a product of a nearby kids party that cleared out in time for class. We started with a warm up and then moved into various basic vaults, bails, and jumps. I found Salil to be really encouraging and he gave each of the six or so participants individualized attention. If he saw a way you could improve he'd talk you through it and have you go again. I also appreciated that he showed different levels of difficulty for everything so people could have an experience that matched their abilities.

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Thank you for the kind words! I hope we'll see you both at the gym again soon!  :-)

Salil

4 4 4 4 4
Jan 30, 2020

Had a great Intro to Adult Gymnastics class! The instructor was patient yet intensive and detailed. I really appreciated that she made sure we prioritized the health and safety of our bodies first and emphasized technique and care so as not to damage any muscles etc. This was important to me as it was my first time coming back to any kind of exercise in a while. I definitely want to come back when I get the chance!

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Thank you for the postive feedback! We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

4 4 4 4 4
Jan 29, 2020

I greatly enjoyed my experience at Urban Evolution. My favorite part of it was to do aerial silk and to learn tricks with the silk. I hope to do more of that type of acrobatics in the future. The entire trip was eventful, with something to do at every given moment, and got your adrenaline pumping. I went there on a field trip, and it was exhilarating, it sparks conversations with my classmates about parkour and acrobatics, which I never thought I would discuss. I have been searching for somewhere that does aerial silk or parkour for a while, and this is perfect. The friendly environment and helpful employees made the experience more relaxing and fun. I hope to visit again soon, this was a great trip, and I believe that my classmates would agree.

Alexandria
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 22, 2020
Alexandria

I did the nano class last night. It was great. My favorite part was the obstacle course and the ghost in the grave yard game. I have been wanting to try parkour for a long tie and this class was exactly what I like doing. My mum is happy that I might stop jumping on the couch and my sister wants me to come everyday so that I leave her alone. I can't wait to come again.

Kansas City
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 16, 2020
Kansas City

I wasn't really sure what to expect when I came to my first homeschool parkour class. I was blown out of the water! All I really want to do is climb on things and run around, and I got to be in a place where that is all you do! It was great to learn new ways to jump and land safely. I want to get stronger and faster. I wish I had class every day!

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 13, 2020

My 12 year old daughter and I attended the Intro to Silks Class on Saturday. The instructor was very informative and patient with us as we tried different holds and techniques. There were also a few level 1 students who had brought friends to try the class. One in particular took the time to help us out with our moves. I think this studio has a good community, and we will definitely be back to try the level 1 classes!

5 5 5 5 5
Dec 28, 2019

Just got back from the Intro to Parkour. My 9 year old daughter and my 45 year old self enjoyed it. I don't know what the class is usually like, as this time it was just the two of us, plus another child about the same age as my daughter, so I was a bit of an afterthought through no fault of the instructor.

That said, I learned a lot, got to practice a decent bit, and I'm going to be pretty comfortable practicing going forward. I could probably use more work on rolls, so a similar class with all adults would probably have been better for me, but since part of the point is to find something active my daughter and I can do together, and since my daughter was the disruptive and distracting one of the children, I can't really complain.

The space is great, the instructor (Salil, who's also the co-owner and co-founder of the gym was laid back, good at dealing with the kids, and was good about trying to work me in when the kids let him, but also was good at reading me and letting me rest and learn by watching when I needed to.

I'm looking forward to going back and getting more into it. I have too many hobbies to concentrate on any one, but this one will definitely take some of my time going forward.

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Thank you for the kind words, Peter! I hope we'll see you at the gym again soon!


Pages: 1 2 ... 16
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Arlington, VA
Mar 7, 2020

I’m taking the Silks training level 1 and I love it! The trainer for my first class was supper supportive and Awesome!
I bought the membership and plan to keep taking classes.
Thank you!

Business Hours *

Fitness Studio HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Open12pm - 9pm
12pm - 9pm
12pm - 9pm
12pm - 9pm
12pm - 9pm
12pm - 6pm
12pm - 6pm
* Holiday Schedules Vary - Please contact us for more info