Urban Evolution Alexandria

Fitness Studio  in Alexandria , VA

5505 Cherokee Ave
Alexandria , VA , 22312
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA
  • Fitness Studio in Alexandria, VA

Urban Evolution Alexandria

Get directions 5505 Cherokee Ave
 
Add to favourites
Alexandria , VA , 22312
 
Add to favourites
 
 
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Kansas City, MO
Feb 16, 2020

My husband and I just completed our first Intro to Parkour class with Salil. I was a little overwhelmed at first with the chaos around me, but that seemed to mostly be a product of a nearby kids party that cleared out in time for class. We started with a warm up and then moved into various basic vaults, bails, and jumps. I found Salil to be really encouraging and he gave each of the six or so participants individualized attention. If he saw a way you could improve he'd talk you through it and have you go again. I also appreciated that he showed different levels of difficulty for everything so people could have an experience that matched their abilities.

154 Total Reviews
4.89 4.89 4.89 4.89 4.89
154 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 16

VA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 11, 2016
VA USA

Urban Evolution is not your typical "gym" of machines, televisions, and protein shakes. Whether you're 3 or 103, Urban Evo is the place to be if you want to get active and stay active.  I've been a member for a few years and I've always had a pleasant experience. Parkour, gymnastics, UrbanFit, Breakdancing, there's something for everyone to take part in. The instructors emphasize on proper technique and execution. They don't take shortcuts and make sure all of their students get it. I was always encouraged when I was unsure of myself. Now I do the encouraging. The staff is great and you'll definitely get to know a little or a lot about other people who attend. The hidden beauty about Urban Evo is that the skills learned can be utilized on various levels. For instance, some things I've learned in gymnastics correlate to parkour and vice versa. That's a win win!! Urban Evolution is great place with great people and you will always have something to work on because there's so much available for you to learn.

VA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 10, 2016
VA USA

I l love this place! A great place for the whole family. They have classes for all levels and ages (over 4 years old), and it's always fun and invigorating. My favorite class is Bootstraps. Because of physical limitations (false joints) the instructors are always great to work with me to get the optimal workout without causing injuries. Friendly, challenging, encouraging.

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Thanks, Trish! We love having you and JJ at the gym. We appreciate the kind words and we love seeing you guys at the gym!

5 5 5 5 5
Oct 7, 2016

Urban Evolution is a fantastic gym to learn a new skill or resurrect old talents.  I took the Adult Gymnastics Level 1 class and there was a great camaraderie among the participants.  The instructor stressed the importance of proper technique and encouraged us to try but not push ourselves beyond our limits.  I was an acrobat during childhood but had not taken a gymnastics class in several years.  However, the staff made me feel right at home.  I have not found a place that felt right since I moved from California but Urban Evolution seems like a proper fit.  It was also great to see the younger students participating in parkour and seeing different skills being showcased around the gym.  I have recommended Urban Evolution to my coworkers and friends and look forward to attending more classes in the future.

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Thank you for the kind words and for "getting it!" We love it when clients see what we do and why! We hope we'll see you at the gym again soon, Danielle!

5 5 5 5 5
Sep 25, 2016

This place is super chill and laid back. I took the Adult intro to gymnastics class and enjoyed feeling like I was 12 again. I wish I could have done more tumbling but it was only the Intro class. The atmosphere and people were welcoming, and I recommend trying at least one class. Doesn't hurt- I promise you'll smile and laugh at least once. They also had just ended a birthday party before my class started, and both the kids and instructors were beaming with excitement.

5 5 5 5 5
Sep 19, 2016

Marc F and I went back to parkour after a loooong hiatus. Needless to say, I was nervous! I could remember how physically demanding parkour can be.

We re-enrolled and took Intro to Parkour with Frank. I can honestly say that our lesson with Frank was the best lesson ever! I made so much progress in one day. He even had us doing vaults over boxes and rails. Frank and Ashley told us about the different classes and experience levels that are available. I am glad that I can tailor what classes I take to my beginner experience level.

We missed UE Alexandria. Glad to be back!

5 5 5 5 5
Sep 18, 2016

We visited Urban Evolution for a tour. Meatball was very engaging to adults as well as our child. She was knowledgeable on the facility, classes, and instructors. A Nano Parkour class was scheduled to begin within a half hour and she invited our child to participate so we stayed to let him do so while we observed the class.  He was definitely in his element and excited to be able to "play" without as many restrictions or limitations as he would normally have. Mr. Mustache did an excellent job balancing the different needs of the group he was instructing, which was no small task. He was able to challenge those who were more advanced while offering encouragement and guidance to others that may have needed it.  As per our child, "I loved it!" when asked about the class and he is excited about returning for Parkour class in addition to other classes.  In fact, we are heading out to Break dancing shortly. It has been all that he has talked about since we left. We are looking forward to a long positive relationship with Urban Evolution! Thanks guys! You all are awesome!

VA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Sep 15, 2016
VA USA

At the end of my kids' summer camp I purchased a punch card from UE, thinking it would be fun to try parkour myself.  It took me a while to clear my schedule BUT IT WAS WORTH IT! After 10 years of working out in gyms and running, I'v never had so much fun being exhausted!  My instructor was the perfect mix of professional, knowledgeable, and fun.  I am looking forward to my next class because I can wait to get back to Urban Evolution.

5 5 5 5 5
Sep 10, 2016

This place is AWESOME! I went for a intro class and I had so much fun! Can't wait to come back soon!
-

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Welcome to your/our Ninja community :-D

5 5 5 5 5
Aug 23, 2016

The aerial silks instructors are so full of knowledge , experience, and creativity. They build such a solid foundation for beginners with conditioning. There is also always something to learn and experience in class no matter what skill level you are! They take all my questions and concerns seriously and work to ease anything that may seem intimidating and before you know it you are doing something incredible!

5 5 5 5 5
Aug 21, 2016

I took the intro to arial skills class and it was amazing! I always wanted to try it and with this gym it was safe and had a small group class which was great for the instructor to make sure  we were all okay and comfortable. I will  definitely be back, that was the most fun I have ever had working out and it didn't even feel like your typical workout. I would  definitely recommend to my friends!

Urban Evolution Alexandria comment

Thank you for the kind words! We hope to see you again soon, Kimberly!


Pages: 1 ... 14 15 16
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Kansas City, MO
Feb 16, 2020

My husband and I just completed our first Intro to Parkour class with Salil. I was a little overwhelmed at first with the chaos around me, but that seemed to mostly be a product of a nearby kids party that cleared out in time for class. We started with a warm up and then moved into various basic vaults, bails, and jumps. I found Salil to be really encouraging and he gave each of the six or so participants individualized attention. If he saw a way you could improve he'd talk you through it and have you go again. I also appreciated that he showed different levels of difficulty for everything so people could have an experience that matched their abilities.

Business Hours *

Fitness Studio HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
12pm - 9pm
12pm - 9pm
12pm - 9pm
12pm - 9pm
Open12pm - 9pm
12pm - 6pm
12pm - 6pm
* Holiday Schedules Vary - Please contact us for more info