Arc Academy LLC

Bootcamp  in Chicago , IL

2225 W. Chicago Ave.
Chicago , IL , 60622
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL

Arc Academy LLC

Get directions 2225 W. Chicago Ave.
 
Add to favourites
Chicago , IL , 60622
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Mchenry, IL
Apr 1, 2019

I took mig 1 n 2 With Curtis it was freaking phenomenal
 I very much enjoyed it definitely help me put the decision in stone that this is a career that I want to do Curtis was an awesome guy definitely taught me a lot in the period of time that we were together definitely a great teacher knows how to work with students especially people like myself that sometimes don’t get things just the first time because I’m more hands-on I would recommend this class for somebody who is  Only really interested in welding I give them 10 stars if I could I plan to pay the monthly fee and go back for open shop class you guys are freaking awesome keep rocking and rolling sincerely Clint

99 Total Reviews
4.99 4.99 4.99 4.99 4.99
99 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 ... 10

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 20, 2020

After purchasing a MIG welder and spending some time watching YouTube videos, reading books and making sparks fly, I decided I really wanted some professional “instruction”. Having someone watch me and tell me, “faster, slower, closer” is really beneficial, and learning the “sound” a weld makes when the settings are optimal for the thickness of metal.

When my boyfriend asked me what I learned from this class, I think I spent about 15 minutes talking about everything and could still think of more.

It was great to see other people practice and learn what does and doesn’t work.

Since I was unfamiliar with the area, I used the “SpotAngels” app which told me there was a free parking lot nearby. I never found it, but it’s only $2/2 hours. Use the ParkChicago app to pay for parking, or pay at the station on the street.

Nice selection of eateries in the area too. Great, comfortable area of town.

Definitely looking forward to part 2 of the MIG class.

Michelle in Rockford, IL area

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 12, 2020

I took the MIG 1 & 2 classes today with Curtis as the instructor.  I was great and exceeded my expectations.  After a short introductory talk by Curtis, we learned through hands-on training.  We did multiple types of welding techniques on various welding joints.  Curtis was clear, informative and patient with us.  These classes provided a perfect introduction and basic experience with MIG welding.  I feel like I could start welding on my own after taking these classes.

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 5, 2020

I found ARC Academy on the web after deciding I was going to finally take class and not just learn from someone informally. I took both MIG 1 & 2 with Curtis. I thought I would mix it up and take two different instructors but Curtis was just so engaging and thorough in his instruction that it seemed foolish to look elsewhere. It was a few weeks between my two courses but Curtis's fundamentals of safety and set up held up.  Folks here are very down to earth and welcoming and serious about what they know and how they share their knowledge and expertise. I will be considering how I get back there sooner than later for more instruction and open studio time. Thank you

Highland Park
5 5 5 5 5
Dec 17, 2019
Highland Park

Rich is a great instructor! We had a class of five, with everyone coming for different reasons and different welding experiences from novice to hobbyist. Safety and equipment knowledge first, hands-on welding second.  I left feeling like I learned a lot, comfortable with being in the shop and ready to go back to practice the craft. It takes time and patience to get a good even weld. Big fan of Arc and the people who sign up for classes. All great people.

5 5 5 5 5
Nov 16, 2019

I came all the way up from TX to take the full boat of Arc Academy welding classes., and I could not possibly be more HAPPY with my experience! I would do it again in a heartbeat, & I'm planning on coming back for the Fab class when I can!!! 10/10 5-star Experience!!

TIG1 2 with Stephen was every bit as awesome as MIG1&2 w Curtis., I mean I love the staff at this place, they have done an incredible job hiring and staffing the instructors, they are all Top notch professionals!!  Stephen is the ultimate owner/GM, so I'm sure he deserves a lot of the credit for that.., it was also cool to take classes directly with the guy who created the place as he was the guy I had already seen on many of the Arc Academy & Miller Welders videos!  I won't go too far into detail, but I had a case of extreme food poisoning the night before the TIG classes, I actually was still so sick the next day I had to leave after the TIG 1 class., Stephen was so incredibly cool and gracious about the whole ordeal, that he found a way to work in time the next day for me to be able to come back & he covered everything I had missed in TIG 2., now THAT is Above & Beyond the call of duty, and for that I am extremely grateful!!  

As far as the TIG classes themselves, another total home run., very in depth information as to the process of setting up the machine front to back, adjusting gas pressure, setting up for the correct metal thickness, different gas caps, electrodes, and we learned how to run various TIG beads in various positions, fusion TIG, lay-wire, using filler material, "stacking dimes" etc, as well as some incredible pedal control exercises that I thought were awesome and really helped a person dial in personal control on the fly of their amperage.  As with Curtis, Steve was very cool in taking time to answer and address any questions/challenges anyone in class was having.  Can't possibly give Stephen a high enough review, just totally rocked it man, and really helped make my experience one for the books!  Looking forward to seeing you again hopefully sooner than later!
Thanks -Chris

5 5 5 5 5
Nov 16, 2019

I came all the way up from TX to take the full boat of Arc Academy welding classes., and I could not possibly be more HAPPY with my experience, I would do it again in a heartbeat, & I'm planning on coming back for the Fab class when I can!!! 10/10 5-star Experience!!

My classes started with MIG1&2 with Curtis, and what a fantastic way to kick it off!  Curtis was extremely professional, knowledgeable and was very hands on with all of the students, helping us with any little problems we had as well as was extremely nice in answering any & every question we had.  Curtis very adequately described every aspect of the MIG process and what I thought was a HUGE bonus, we were also trained on how to use the PLASMA cutter, as well as we got to cut our own sheet metal & square tubing, grind mil-scale off of hot rolled steel, etc, using table clamps/vices, before we started welding up our "coupons":), which was almost like a bonus beginning level fab class, so I thought this was extra awesome!  Lastly, a sign of when you know you have an instructor that really cares, both classes ran prob 30-45min over bc Curtis was so willing to make sure we had all the knowledge we felt we needed and took the tie to answer all questions til there were none left.  Not sure how it could get better than this for a MIG course, don't think twice, JUST DO IT!!!!
Thanks -Chris

Chicago
5 5 5 5 5
Nov 10, 2019
Chicago

Took TIG 1 & 2 with Steve and had blast! Excellent crash course on welding. Learned a lot of theory, best practices/worst practices, and got to roll up the sleeves and get some practice in. Would definitely recommend this course for anyone interested in learning to weld!

5 5 5 5 5
Nov 9, 2019

Took MIG 1 & 2 with Curtis. It was a great class very informative. I would highly recommend it.

5 5 5 5 5
Nov 1, 2019

Took MIG 1 & 2 with Curtis who is an exceptional instructor. Good mix of information and thoroughness while keeping the class entertaining. 11/10 would recommend this to anyone remotely interested in welding. Had a blast.

Forest Park
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 28, 2019
Forest Park

I took MIG 1 with Curtis and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. I signed up for the class out of sheer interest in welding and a few projects in mind for the future. Curtis was thorough, patient, kind and so talented. He is a fabulous teacher and I highly recommend his classes to students at any level.

I also want to note that I was the only woman in my class. Arc Academy does offer women in welding courses, but they just didn't work out for my schedule. Further, I am typically comfortable with this statistic based purely on my career and hobbies. However, I know this can be an incredibly uncomfortable situation for many people. I have certainly been treated differently in a scenario like this, questioned as to why I would join whatever class or group I have joined, not taken seriously, etc. Listen, I know I have small hands, I know I am short, I certainly know I am a woman, blah, blah, blah. However, I am pretty bad ass and, in most cases, a quick study. Regardless, I am committed and I want to be in the room and work just like the next person. Curtis appreciated and respected me as a student and he did a phenomenal job teaching all of the people in the space. I had so much fun, learned a hell of a lot, signed up for MIG 2 and am thrilled to have found Arc Academy.


Pages: 1 2 ... 10
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Mchenry, IL
Apr 1, 2019

I took mig 1 n 2 With Curtis it was freaking phenomenal
 I very much enjoyed it definitely help me put the decision in stone that this is a career that I want to do Curtis was an awesome guy definitely taught me a lot in the period of time that we were together definitely a great teacher knows how to work with students especially people like myself that sometimes don’t get things just the first time because I’m more hands-on I would recommend this class for somebody who is  Only really interested in welding I give them 10 stars if I could I plan to pay the monthly fee and go back for open shop class you guys are freaking awesome keep rocking and rolling sincerely Clint

Business Hours *

Bootcamp HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
Open9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
* Holiday Schedules Vary - Please contact us for more info