Gen-Ki Karate & Fitness Center

Fitness Studio  in Chicago , IL

5756 N Milwaukee Ave Chicago, IL 5756 N Milwaukee Ave
Chicago , IL , 60646
  • Fitness Studio in Chicago, IL
  • Fitness Studio in Chicago, IL
  • Fitness Studio in Chicago, IL
Approved

Gen-Ki Karate & Fitness Center

Get directions 5756 N Milwaukee Ave Chicago, IL 5756 N Milwaukee Ave
 
Add to favourites
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
Oak Park, IL
Aug 17, 2016

The Aerobic Kickboxing, aka Boot Camp, was by far the best workout class I have ever been taken! Jerry is a fantastic coach and really gets your heart pumping. As soon as I walked into the studio, I felt welcomed and challenged. Jerry warned me that the class will be difficult and he will be motivating, and no way was he wrong! The class was high intensity but very fun, I found myself smiling the entire time. The next day, I told my entire team at work about the class. I can't wait to return!

16 Total Reviews
16 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2

Apr 10, 2017

Great class!  Have only done 2 so far and going back tomorrow.  Intense workout and Jerry keeps it entertaining.  And don't slack or he will let you know about it!

Gen-Ki Karate & Fitness Center comment

Thank you for the great report. I will be nicer to you next time.....................not

Sep 9, 2016

The facility was DIRTY and unkept.  Bathroom was filthy.  No one received me, or processed my payment voucher for the class.   Good class, Instructor did a fair job.

Gen-Ki Karate & Fitness Center comment

Thank you for your response regarding our location, the state in which you found the place and the class.  When you first walked in I noticed that you were new to our place. I was talking to someone when you came or I would have approached you. I thought it was nice that you simply walked onto the floor. When I did approach you and we introduced each other you mentioned that you were part of the Wellness living promotion. While I am at it I must also say I am sorry for my inappropriate comment.  I thought I was being funny? I guess not. I thought I also mentioned that I was notified by email earlier that you had scheduled a class. Although there are some people that come in and have their phone in their hand and ready to show that they have scheduled a class, I find it not needed since it was scheduled on line. So there was no reason to "process" your payment voucher. I fact I never have. Before I left I noticed that your experienced in our type of workout. If you will remember I did not notice if you had water and I offered you a bottle of water before I left. In regard to the facility being "DIRTY" and "UNKEPT" I can agree with you. You see I have a children's class from 5:30 to 6:30 and although I like to check the bathrooms before each class and especially before my Adult classes or in your case the Aerobic Kickboxing it is hard at times. However saying this there is no reason that your experience should be anything but pleasurable and positive.   Once someone signs up for this promotion people notices that the list of the locations that they can attend classes are limited. I also know that in most cases when someone does sign up they soon find out that I am usually the closest location. The program is set where you get 30 classes for $20.00. If you choose to go to one place you can only go 5 times. This is because many locations opt out since these locations don't think it is worth it based on $20.00. I don't feel that way. Although I never have had anyone mention that the place is Dirty or unkept, that dos not mean that one might think so. I do try to keep the place clean. So I am sorry that you had a bad experience. Although as mentioned earlier I though I was being funny when we first met I must admit that I am kind of like a drill instructor when I lead the class. I also get in people's faces to make them work out harder. So I was thinking that you probably will not wish to come back and I feel it is my fault. I receive no part of the $20.00 you paid. I only funds if a person continues after there promotional 5 classes have been taken. Normally I might offer a fee class based on your experience. However I would not want you to have a bad experience again. What people say about our programs and location is very important to me. Please provide you full address,city and zip code and I will refund your $20.00. I am sorry for your bad experaince.  Jerry Weiss

Aug 17, 2016

The Aerobic Kickboxing, aka Boot Camp, was by far the best workout class I have ever been taken! Jerry is a fantastic coach and really gets your heart pumping. As soon as I walked into the studio, I felt welcomed and challenged. Jerry warned me that the class will be difficult and he will be motivating, and no way was he wrong! The class was high intensity but very fun, I found myself smiling the entire time. The next day, I told my entire team at work about the class. I can't wait to return!

Gen-Ki Karate & Fitness Center comment

Thank you for the comments. As mentioned we work with the bags tomorrow night. Normally Arturo the other Instructor teaches or runs this session however he is on vacation in Iceland. So I will be doing the class tomorrow night. I normally teach the class on Saturday mornings at 8:30am, however this Saturday I must attend a special class myself. I will be there when you walk in if you come in however I must leave early to take this class. No worries my son Adam will be teaching the class. There are some people that will be there that have met my son however many have not. So everyone is in for a treat. It is exciting that you enjoyed the class that you would tell your friends. Please speak to me about this. Thanks again for the comment.  Sensei Weiss

Aug 9, 2016

I really had fun at the class. It was my first class and I didn't know what to expect but I felt welcome ever since stepping in. Music kept me pumped, sensei kept me motivated, all there was left to do was to get my body moving! Use of weights showed me how much I still need to improve my condition,  but I know I will be coming back there as soon as possible!

Apr 19, 2016

Loved this class, very intense but the instructor made seem so easy and fun.  I'll be going back again.

Mar 9, 2016

It was my first time going, the mister and I both went and we both enjoyed the class tremendously. It was a great workout, had a great time the classmates and instructor are fun and entertaining..  We will definitely be going back for more classes....

Feb 25, 2016

Okay.... second class was just as awesome. I didn't know that we would do different things on other days. I love the mixing it up. Thursday is bag day. I love punching and kicking the bag. This place is great. The intructor are friendly and really motovating. And the fellow classmates are super cool too. Such a great experience. I highly recommend Gen-Ki and their Kickboxing classes.

Gen-Ki Karate & Fitness Center comment

I am very happy that you enjoyed your second class with us. There are certain types of movements that we do almost every class and yet we try to mix up the workouts. I hope you also see results in what ever you wish to also accomplish with our program.  If there questions that you or a particular technique you enjoyed please let us know.  If you have any suggestions please also let us know.  Jerry

Feb 25, 2016

First class was awesome!! It was complete areobic through out the class. I loved it. I gave three stars because. Im curious to see what else is in store for us. Im sure there will be full five stars.

Feb 4, 2016

It's a great workout and I love it! It's intense and makes you to release the stress from the day.  It's very nice environment and I like how the coach stimulates you to give more from yourself! Definitely would recommend this class !!!

Jan 14, 2016

What a great workout! Whether your a workout nut or just a beginner this class is for you. You start off with a great aerobic workout using weights, continue with some boxing and finish up with a rough ab workout.  The instructor is very friendly but also keeps everyone motivated.  Nice intimate setting! A+

Gen-Ki Karate & Fitness Center comment

Thanks for the review. I hope you will be back after your promotion program is over.  Jerry


Pages: 1 2
 

Featured review

Featured review
Oak Park, IL
Aug 17, 2016

The Aerobic Kickboxing, aka Boot Camp, was by far the best workout class I have ever been taken! Jerry is a fantastic coach and really gets your heart pumping. As soon as I walked into the studio, I felt welcomed and challenged. Jerry warned me that the class will be difficult and he will be motivating, and no way was he wrong! The class was high intensity but very fun, I found myself smiling the entire time. The next day, I told my entire team at work about the class. I can't wait to return!

Business Hours *

Fitness Studio HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 1:00 pm
Sunday
Closed
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.