Canceling an appointment booking

If a client wants to cancel a booked appointment, you can cancel the appointment from either the client’s profile or the schedule. If multiple clients are booked into an appointment, canceling the appointment booking for one client will not cancel it for the others. Clients can also cancel the appointment themselves through either the Client Web App, the Achieve Client App, or the Appointment Confirmation email notification.

When canceling an appointment booking, keep the following information in mind:

  • If a visit that is paid for with a session pass or a membership is marked as Early Cancel, the visit will return to the session pass or membership. Returned visits will not automatically pay for existing unpaid visits. To use a session pass or membership to pay for an unpaid visit you must reconcile the visit. For more information, see Reconciling an unpaid visit.
  • If you cancel an appointment after a client has been marked as Late Cancel, the client’s cancellation status will automatically be changed to Early Cancel. Purchase option visits that are used to pay for the service will be returned to the client, but late cancellation fees charged based on your business policies will not be automatically refunded. To refund these fees, you must manually issue the refund to the client.
  • Enabling the Appointment Canceled by Staff notification will automatically select the checkbox to send the related notification to the affected clients when a staff member is canceling an appointment booking. If the Appointment Canceled by Staff notification is disabled, the staff member must manually select which notifications to send to the affected clients.

In this article:

    To cancel an appointment booking from a client’s profile:

    1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
    2. In the list of clients displayed, click the client’s name.
    3. On the side menu, click Attendance.
    4. On the Attendance menu, click Upcoming Schedule.
    5. In the list, find the appointment you want to cancel. You may have to browse the list, use the Search option, or filter the list to find the appointment.
    6. In the ACTION column, click the Action button  and select Cancel Session.
    7. In the confirmation popup, click OK. The appointment booking is canceled.

    To cancel a recurring appointment booking from a client’s profile:

    1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
    2. In the list of clients displayed, click the client’s name.
    3. On the side menu, click Attendance.
    4. On the Attendance menu, click Upcoming Schedule.
    5. In the list, find the recurring appointment you want to cancel.You may have to browse the list, use the Search option, or filter the list to find the appointment.
    6. In the ACTION column, click the Action button  and select Cancel All Recurring Sessions.
    7. In the cancellation wizard, select which appointments in the series you are canceling or select the Cancel all recurring appointments checkbox to cancel all appointments in the series.
    8. Click YES at the bottom of the screen.
    9. Make any required changes to the cancellation reason and click NEXT.
    10. Select the Send email to affected client, the Send sms to affected client, and/or the Send push to affected client checkboxes to notify the client of the cancellation.
      • To customize the notifications:
        1. Click Customize Email, Customize SMS, or Customize Push depending on which notification you want to customize.
        2. Make any required changes to the notification template. For more information on customizing email notifications, see Automated email template settings and Email variables.
        3. Click SAVE.
    11. Click COMPLETE. The appointment bookings are canceled.

    To cancel multiple appointment bookings from a client’s profile:

    1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
    2. In the list of clients displayed, click the client’s name.
    3. On the side menu, click Attendance.
    4. On the Attendance menu, click Upcoming Schedule.
    5. In the list, select the checkboxes to the left of the appointments you want to cancel.You may have to browse the list, use the Search option, or filter the list to find the appointment.
    6. Click Cancel Selected Sessions.
    7. In the confirmation popup, click OK. The appointment bookings are canceled.

    To cancel an appointment booking from the schedule:

      1. Click the App Drawer button .
      2. In the App Drawer, click Schedule.
      3. On the Schedule menu, click .
      4. On the menu, click .
      5. Click the appointment you want to cancel from the schedule. You may have to browse the list, use the Search option, or filter the list to find the appointment.
      6. In the appointment window under Attendees, select either Early cancel, Late cancel, or No Show.
        • If you are viewing the schedule in List view, click the More The more button displayed at the top of reports. The button is a square with three vertical blue dots and a blue border. button and select Cancel appointment from the dropdown menu. Under Update status, select the appropriate cancellation status.
      7. Under Reason, enter a reason for cancellation.
      8. Select the appropriate notification to inform the client of the cancellation. The options are Send email notification, Send SMS notification, and Send push notification.
        • To customize the notifications, click the Edit button next to the notification type. Make any required changes to the notification template, and then click SAVE.
      9. Click Update or Cancel appointment. The appointment booking is canceled.
    Was this article helpful?
    (101 out of 102 people found this article helpful)
    Cancel