Managing a conversation in Message Center

Message Center allows your clients and staff members to engage in end-to-end conversations using SMS text messaging. Staff members can send outbound messages to initiate conversations with clients. They can also search the Message Center for specific messages or filter the messages by date, client type, client group, and client home location.

Clients can reply to your automated notifications and marketing texts or simply send a message to your assigned phone number to start a new conversation. A history of interactions with a client through Message Center can be viewed in the client’s contact history.

Staff members can also mute, mark as unread, or archive conversations.

  • Muting a conversation will stop the alerts for any new inbound messages in that conversation from appearing. Unmute a conversation to receive alerts for it again.
  • Marking a conversation as unread will make it appear as a new inbound message and indicate the number of responses the client has made since the last outbound message.
  • Archiving a conversation will move the conversation to the Archived folder. When you send an outbound message in an archived conversation, the conversation will be automatically moved to the Replied folder. If you receive an inbound message in an archived conversation, it will be automatically moved to the Unread folder.

NoteStaff members must be assigned to a staff role with the Send Email/SMS to clients permission to perform these actions. For more information, see Staff role permissions.

NoteOnly individual clients can be contacted using Message Center. To send an SMS message to a group of clients, see Contacting a group of clients.

In this article:

    To start a conversation:

    1. Click the App Drawer button .
    2. In the App Drawer, click Message.
    3. On the Message page, click NEW CONVERSATION.
    4. Under the To: field, enter the information for the client with whom you want to start a conversation. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
    5. In the list of clients displayed, click the client’s name.
    6. Under the Type a new message field, enter your message.
    7. Click the Send button .

    To mute, mark as unread, or archive a conversation:

    1. Click the App Drawer button .
    2. In the App Drawer, click Message.
    3. From the list of conversations, click on the conversation you want to mute, mark as unread, or archive.  You may have to browse the list, use the Search option, or filter the list to find the conversation.
    4. Click the Options button and select one of the following options:
      • To stop receiving notifications for new inbound messages to the conversation, select Mute. To unmute a muted conversation, select Unmute.
      • To mark the conversation as unread, select Mark as Unread.
      • To archive the conversation, select Archive.
    Was this article helpful?
    (21 out of 21 people found this article helpful)
    Cancel