Membership advanced settings

This article describes all advanced settings available when you are creating or modifying a membership.

To learn about the general information settings available when creating or modifying an membership, see Membership general information settings.

Setting Description
Purchase Restrictions The purchase rules for the membership:

  • Select Client can buy online or Only staff member can sell this purchase option depending on whether you want to allow clients to buy the membership online or only through a staff member.
  • Select which clients can purchase this membership: Available to all clients, Introductory offer for new clients only, or Available to select Client Types only. If you select Available to select Client Types only, select one or more Client Types from the list.
  • Select how this membership is sold: Sold individually or Sold as part of package only.
Access to Locations Determines whether your client can use the Purchase Option in All or Specific locations. If you select Specific locations, select the checkbox for each applicable location.
Membership Attendance Restrictions Determines if the number of available sessions are restricted based on a specific time period (e.g.: a maximum of 10 sessions per month). If you select Apply Attendance Restriction:

    • In the Period list, select day, week, 4-Week, month, or year.
    • In the MAX SESSIONS field, enter the maximum number of sessions the client can attend in the selected time period. For example, if you select a PERIOD of a week and enter 5 in the MAX SESSIONS field, the client is restricted to 5 visits per week.
    • Select whether you want to apply the restriction based on the calendar cycle, or the payment cycle: Attendance Restriction is applied at the start of the calendar cycle or Attendance Restriction is applied at the start of the payment cycle.
    • Select Enable Rollover or Session do not rollover depending on whether you want to allow remaining visits to rollover to the next attendance restriction period.
      • If you select Enable Rollover, choose what happens to the remaining sessions when the Purchase Option expires.
        • Set the Carry over Rollover Sessions upon Auto-Renew option to ON to allow the membership to retain accumulated rollover sessions after it auto-renews.
        • If you select Membership stays active until all remaining visits are used, the membership expires only when all remaining sessions are used. If the membership is set to auto-renew, it renews instead of expiring and the membership remains active.
        • If you select Membership expires and remaining visits are no longer available, the membership and any remaining session expire on the expiration date.

For more information, see Attendance Restrictions.

Contract Select whether the client must agree to a contract before purchasing the membership. Your choices are:

  • No Contract – The client does not need to agree to a contract.
  • Clients must agree to a contract – The client must agree to a contract. Enter your contract in the text field.

NoteIf you modify a membership’s existing contract, when you save your changes you will be asked whether you want clients who have already purchased the membership to re-sign the contract. If you select YES, clients will be prompted to sign the contract the next time they log in to their account.

NoteIf a Purchase Option that has a contract associated with it is set to auto-renew, clients will be required to re-sign the contract each time the Purchase Option automatically renews.
Member Type The client type the client becomes after purchasing the membership.
Sharing Membership and Passes Determines whether to share a membership between family members.

  • Select Share membership with family members by default to share a membership between clients whose profiles are linked as family members.
    Under FAMILY MEMBER, select the relationship between the client and the family member.
  • Select Do not share membership with family members by default if you do not want to share a membership between family member
Membership Hold Rules Determines whether a hold can be placed on the membership. If you choose Membership cannot be put on hold, no hold can be placed on the membership.
If you choose Membership can be put on hold, the membership can be placed on hold and you must determine how holds will affect the membership. Your choices are:

  • Payment is skipped and the inactive time adjusts the value of the next scheduled payment accordingly. Choose this option to skip a payment and add the skipped payment to the next scheduled payment period.
    • Under IF THE SCHEDULED PAYMENT OCCURS WITHIN THE HOLD PERIOD:
      Select Outstanding amount is added to the next scheduled payment to add the outstanding payment amount to the next scheduled payment date or select Outstanding payments are moved to the day after the hold period ends to add the outstanding payment amount to the day after the hold period ends.
  • Select Extends the length of a membership contract by the duration of the hold period. Scheduled payments are moved forward the same number of days as the duration of the hold to increase the duration of the membership respective to the length of the hold.

For more information, see Membership hold rules.

Revenue & Staff Payroll Calculation Determines whether clients who use this membership are included or excluded in payroll calculation. Select Include clients who use this purchase option in payroll calculation or Exclude clients who use this purchase option from payroll calculation. If this membership is free, promotional, or both, you can use this option to exclude clients with this membership from payroll calculations. This is useful because staff who are paid by the number of clients they instruct will only be paid for those clients who used paid memberships.

Select Approximate revenue per session to determine revenue per session or select Do not approximate revenue.

Membership Cancellation Behavior This setting is available if you have applied an attendance restriction. Choose from the following options:

  • Clients cannot use remaining visits after cancellation – Once clients cancel their membership, they cannot use their remaining visits.
  • Clients can use remaining visits after cancellation – After clients cancel their membership, they can continue to use their remaining visits.
    Note Memberships that are set to this option and then canceled will display as active in the Client profile.
  • Staff member can choose whether a client can use remaining visits after cancellation – Staff members can choose on a case-by-case basis whether clients can continue to use their remaining visits after they cancel their membership.
Travel Privileges Select Membership can be used to visit other locations or Membership can’t be used to visit other locations to choose whether clients can use this membership at your other franchise locations.

This option is only available for memberships with the Purchase Option Service Category: Gym Visit Options or Class/Events.

Barcode Enter or generate a barcode to identify this membership in your WellnessLiving system.
Revenue Category The revenue categories to which the membership is assigned. Click a revenue category to select or deselect it. You can select as many revenue categories as needed. The membership will be assigned to the selected revenue categories.

You can also manage revenue categories from here:

  • To add a new revenue category, enter a name for it in the box and click ADD.
  • To rename a revenue category, click the revenue category’s Options button and select Edit .
  • To delete a revenue category, click the revenue category’s Options button and select Delete tag .
  • To make a revenue category the primary category, click the revenue category’s Options button and click Primary .
Was this article helpful?
(72 out of 78 people found this article helpful)
Still need help? Contact us
Cancel