Membership general information settings

This article describes all general information settings available when you are creating or modifying a membership.

To learn about the advanced settings available when creating or modifying an membership, see Membership advanced settings.

CautionIf you include the words Virtual, Video and/or On Demand in the MEMBERSHIP NAME or DESCRIPTION, the Purchase Option will not be displayed in the store or while a client is booking a service on the Achieve Client App or the Achieve White Label Client App on any iOS devices.

Setting Description
MEMBERSHIP NAME The name of the membership. The name is viewable by your clients, so it should be both descriptive and brief.
This field is required.
UPLOAD IMAGE Click to upload an image to represent the membership in the store and on client profiles after the purchase.
DESCRIPTION A description of the membership. This is viewable by your clients, so it should be both descriptive and creative, but brief. This is not a required field, but it is highly recommended.
ACTIVATE ITEM Click this button to activate or deactivate the membership, or to set a deactivation date for the membership:

  • When this option is set to ON, the membership is activated and available for purchase.
  • When this option is set to OFF, the membership is deactivated and is unavailable for purchase.

When this option is set to OFF, the DEACTIVATE ON option is displayed. To set a date on which the membership will deactivate, click the date field and select a date from the calendar.

By default, deactivated memberships can still be used by clients who previously purchased them. To make a deactivated membership unusable by clients who have already purchased it, set the USABLE BY CLIENTS WHO ALREADY PURCHASED option to NO.

For information about cancelling a membership for an individual client, see Canceling a client’s membership.

NoteIf you deactivate a membership and make it unusable for clients who have already purchased it, you are effectively cancelling their membership. Clients’ canceled memberships cannot be reactivated and must be purchased again.
Duration of the membership The length of time for which the membership will be valid. You must specify the number of weeks, months, or years.
Auto-payments every The auto-payment schedule for the membership. You must specify the frequency in weeks, months, or years (based on what you chose for the duration), as well as the date on which the payments will start.

For information about auto-payment revenue if your business has multiple locations, see Membership auto-payments at multiple location businesses.

NoteIf you set auto-payments to occur every month starting on the sale date, and a client purchases the membership on the last day of the month, the client’s membership auto-payments will always be billed on the last day of the month. For example, if a client purchases a membership with monthly auto-payments on February 28th, their next two payments will be charged on March 31st and April 30th.

NoteWhen you set Auto-payments every to any option other than starting on the sale date, clients will be billed the full price of the membership on the day that they purchase the membership but will not have access to the membership until the date specified in the Auto-payments every selection.

For example, a membership has a price of $50 and has Auto-payments every set to starting on the 1st of the month. If a client purchases this membership on April 26, they will have to pay the $50 membership fee for the month of April but will not have access to the membership until May 1. They will be billed for the next membership period on June 1.

If you want to prorate the price of a membership, you can do so at the point of sale. For more information, see Prorating memberships. You can also change the start date of a membership at the point of sale. For more information, see Setting a membership start date from the shopping cart.

Price The price of the membership.

For Purchase Options with the Appointment Purchase Option Service Category selected, you must determine if the entered price will apply per period or per session:

  • Per period – Clients who purchase this membership will be charged the entered price once per period. The period is based on the Duration of the membership.
  • Per session – Clients will be charged the entered price one time when they purchase the membership. Clients will also be charged the entered price each time they book an Appointment using this membership as the payment option. The price per session will accumulate on the payment schedule for each Appointment booked during a payment period, and the accumulated amount will be charged to the client based on the time period selected in Auto-payments every.
Taxes Determines whether taxes are applied to the membership upon purchase. Your choices are:

  • Charge taxes – Select the checkbox for each type of tax that applies to the membership.
  • Do not charge tax – No taxes will be applied to the membership.
Summary A summary of the membership payments including taxes.
After Expiration This setting determines what happens after the membership expires. Your choices are:

  • Do nothing – The membership simply expires.
  • Auto-Renew – The membership will be automatically renewed after it expires. If you modify an existing membership to Auto-Renew and try to save your changes, a confirmation popup is displayed with the following options:
      • To Apply to previously sold instances, set this option to ON.
      • To Apply to previously sold instances which have been edited, set this option to ON. This option will only be available if Apply to previously sold instances option is set to ON.
        The confirmation popup will also display the total number of clients affected by this change. Click the number to display a list of all affected clients.
  • Convert to – The membership will be converted to the selected membership after it expires. If you modify an existing membership and opt to Convert to… and save your changes, a confirmation popup is displayed with the following options:
      • To Apply to previously sold instances, set this option to ON.
      • To Apply to previously sold instances which have been edited, set this option to ON. This option will only be available if Apply to previously sold instances option is set to ON. The confirmation popup will also display the total number of clients affected by this change. Click the number to display a list of all affected clients.
    • Enable Client Control – Clients can opt out of the membership conversion or auto-renewal. This option is available only when the Convert to or Auto-Renew option has been selected.
    • Disable Client Control – Clients cannot opt out of the membership conversion or auto-renewal. This option is available only when the Convert to or Auto-Renew option has been selected.
Access to Appointments This setting will be displayed if you are creating a membership using the Appointments Purchase Option Service Category. Select the checkbox next to each Appointment Type the membership can be used for, or select the Select All checkbox.
Access to Assets This setting will be displayed if you are creating a membership using the Assets Purchase Option Service Category. Select the checkbox next to each BOOK-A-SPOT™ asset type the membership can be used for, or select the Select All checkbox.
Select Multiple Online Store Categories The categories in which this membership will be displayed when searching your online store.
Was this article helpful?
(93 out of 94 people found this article helpful)
Still need help? Contact us
Cancel