Merging client information

If a client or staff member has multiple profiles within your business, those profiles should be merged. Merging two profiles consolidates information such as attendance history and Purchase Options. Information from the Profile Details page (such as name, address, and phone number) is not merged if you perform the merge directly from a client’s profile. However, if you use the Duplicate Clients Report to merge profiles, profile details will be retained and you will be able to choose the information from each client’s profile you want to retain after the merge. For more information on what is merged when you merge profiles from either a client’s profile or the Duplicate Clients Report, see Types of information below.

There are some cases where profiles cannot be merged. This is to prevent the loss of staff permissions or client profiles from other businesses when merging profiles. For more information, see Profile merge scenarios below.

This article explains how merging profiles works and what information is merged. To view step-by-step instructions on merging profiles from a client’s profile, see Merging two client profiles and Merging a staff profile with a client profile. See Duplicate Clients Report to learn how to use the Duplicate Clients Report to merge profiles.

CautionMerging profiles cannot be reversed. If you are merging from a client’s profile instead of the Duplicate Clients Report, profile details such as name and address cannot be merged, so ensure the profiles match and the profile receiving the merged information already contains an accurate copy of this information.

NoteWhen a profile is merged into another, it may still appear in client reports for a brief period of time. This is because it can take up to 20 minutes for the UID of the merged profile to be removed from the system.

NoteIf you merge a deactivated client profile into an active one, the new profile will also be deactivated after the merge. To learn how to reactivate a deactivated client, see Reactivating a client.

In this article:

    Profile merge rules

    The table describes the various merge scenarios possible from a client’s profile or the Duplicate Clients Report. The profile receiving merged information will be the profile you’re merging from.

    Profile containing information to be mergedProfile receiving merged informationIs the merge possible using the client’s profile?Is the merge possible using the Duplicate Clients Report?
    Client profile registered with one businessClient profile registered with one businessYes. For more information, see Merging two client profiles.Yes. For more information, see Duplicate Clients Report.
    Client profile registered with one businessClient profile registered with multiple businessesYes. For more information, see Merging two client profiles.Yes. For more information, see Duplicate Clients Report.
    Client profile registered with multiple businessesClient profile registered with one businessNoNo
    Client profile registered with multiple businessesClient profile registered with multiple businessesNoNo
    Staff profileClient profileYes. Creating a staff profile will automatically generate an associated client profile, which allows you to easily switch between your client and staff profiles.No
    Staff profileStaff profileNoNo

    Type of information

    The table describes the type of information that can be merged when merging multiple client profiles from a client’s profile or the Duplicate Clients Report.

    For example, when profile A is merged with profile B, profile B will receive the merged information from profile A. The information that can be merged will be copied from profile A to profile B, and after merging, profile A will be deleted.

    Type of informationIs the merge possible using a client’s profile?Is the merge possible using the Duplicate Clients Report?
    Upcoming scheduleYesYes
    Attendance historyYesYes
    Purchase optionsYesYes
    PurchasesYesYes
    TransactionsYesYes
    ActivityYesYes
    Contact log historyYesYes
    Rewards points – The reward points from profile A are added to profile B.

     

    YesYes. If you’re using the Duplicate Clients Report, rewards points from all the profiles that are being merged will be combined and added to the new profile.
    ContractsYesYes
    Waivers – Each signed waiver is copied from profile A to profile B. If a client has signed the same waiver in both profiles, both signed copies will appear in profile B.YesYes
    Saved credit cards and ACH accountsYesYes
    Account balance – The account balance amount from profile A is added to the account balance of profile B.YesYes. If you’re using the Duplicate Clients Report, the account balance of all the profiles that are being merged will be combined and added to the new profile.
    Custom payment method balance – The balance of each custom payment method from profile A is added to profile B. Profile B will have two separate balances for each custom payment method. If profile A has a custom payment method that doesn’t exist in profile B, the custom payment method will be added to profile B, and the balance will be transferred from profile A to profile B.

     

     

    YesYes. If you’re using the Duplicate Clients Report, the balance of the custom payment methods in each profile being merged will be added separately to the new profile. You’ll be able to view each balance separately in the new profile.
    Event payment and installment plans – The balance of each payment plan from profile A is added to profile B. Profile B will then have two separate balances for each payment plan. If profile A has a payment plan that doesn’t exist in profile B, the payment plan will be added to profile B, and the balance will be transferred from profile A to profile B.

     

    YesYes. If you’re using the Duplicate Clients Report, the balance of each payment plan in each profile being merged will be added separately to the new profile. You’ll be able to view each balance separately in the new profile.
    RelationshipsYesYes
    Client type – The higher priority client type will be retained after merging. Member is ranked the highest priority, followed by Pass Holder and Prospect. If you create a new client type, they will be listed as top priority by default. You can change the priority of a  client type as needed.YesYes
    NameNoYes
    Email addressNoYes
    Phone numberNoYes
    AddressNoYes
    Communication settingsNoNo
    Filled waiversNoYes
    AttachmentsNoNo
    Was this article helpful?
    (102 out of 111 people found this article helpful )

    What can we do better?

    Thank you!