Merging profiles

If a client or staff member has multiple profiles within your business, those profiles should be merged. Merging two profiles consolidates information such as attendance history and Purchase Options. Information from the Profile Details page (such as name, address, and phone number) is not merged if you perform the merge directly from a client’s profile. However, if you use the Duplicate Clients Report to merge profiles, profile details will be retained and you will be able to choose the information from each client’s profile you want to retain after the merge. For more information on what is merged when you merge profiles from either a client’s profile or the Duplicate Clients Report, see How information is merged below.

There are some cases where profiles cannot be merged. This is to prevent the loss of staff permissions or client profiles from other businesses when merging profiles. For more information, see Profile merge scenarios below.

This article explains how merging profiles works and what information is merged. To view step-by-step instructions on merging profiles from a client’s profile, see Merging two client profiles and Merging a staff profile with a client profile. See Duplicate Clients Report to learn how to use the Duplicate Clients Report to merge profiles.

Caution Merging profiles cannot be reversed. If you are merging from a client’s profile instead of the Duplicate Clients Report, profile details such as name and address cannot be merged, so ensure the profiles match and the profile receiving the merged information already contains an accurate copy of this information.

In this article:

Profile merge scenarios

The table describes various merge scenarios and whether they are possible when merging from a client’s profile. The profile receiving merged information is the profile you are merging from. To understand which profile merge scenarios are not possible when merging from the Duplicate Clients Report, see Duplicate Clients Report.

Profile containing information to be merged
Profile receiving merged information
Merge possible?
Client profile registered with one business
Client profile registered with one business
Yes. For more information, see Merging two client profiles.
Client profile registered with one business
Client profile registered with multiple businesses
Yes.
Client profile registered with multiple businesses
Client profile registered with one business
No.
Client profile registered with multiple businesses
Client profile registered with multiple businesses
No.
Client profile registered with one business
Staff profile registered with one business
Yes. For more information, see Merging a staff profile with a client profile.
Staff profile
Client profile
No.
Profile registered with multiple businesses
Profile registered with multiple businesses
No.
Staff profile
Staff profile
No.

How information is merged

The following lists outline what information can and cannot be merged when merging from either a client profile or the Duplicate Clients Report. For profiles being merged from a client profile, the profile whose information will be merged is referred to as profile A, and the profile receiving the merged information is referred to as profile B. Most information that can be merged is copied from profile A to profile B, but there are a few exceptions listed. After the merge, profile A is deleted.

The following profile information can be merged:

  • Upcoming schedule
  • Attendance history
  • Purchase Options
  • Purchases
  • Transactions
  • Activity
  • Contact log history
  • Rewards points – Points from profile A are added to profile B. If you are using the Duplicate Clients Report, rewards points from all the profiles you are merging will be combined and added to the new profile.
  • Contracts
  • Saved credit cards and ACH accounts
  • Account balance – The account balance amount from profile A is added to the account balance of profile B. If you are using the Duplicate Clients Report, the account balance of all the profiles you are merging will be combined and added to the new profile.
  • Custom payment method balance – The balance of each custom payment method from profile A is appended to profile B. Profile B will then have two separate balances for each custom payment method. If there is no match for a custom payment method in profile B, then the custom payment method is added to profile B and the balance is transferred. If you are using the Duplicate Clients Report, the balance of each custom payment method in each profile being merged will be added separately to the new profile. You will be able to view each balance separately in the new profile.
  • Event payment/installment plans – The balance of each payment plan from profile A is appended to profile B. Profile B will then have two separate balances for each payment plan. If there is no match for a payment plan in profile B, then the payment plan is added to profile B and the balance is transferred. If you are using the Duplicate Clients Report, the balance of each payment plan in each profile being merged will be added separately to the new profile. You will be able to view each balance separately in the new profile.
  • Relationships
  • Client type – The client type of the profile with the highest priority client type will be retained after merging.

The following profile information cannot be merged if you are merging from a client profile:

  • Name
  • Email address
  • Phone number
  • Address
  • Communication settings
  • Filled waivers
  • Attachments

The following profile information cannot be merged if you are merging profiles using the Duplicate Clients Report:

  • Communication settings
  • Filled waivers
  • Attachments
Was this article helpful?
(24 out of 28 people found this article helpful)
Still need help? Contact us
Cancel