Merging two client profiles

If a client or staff member has more than one client profile within your business, you can merge their profiles from the Overview page. You can also merge duplicate client profiles using the Duplicate Clients Report.

When merging two client profiles, you should always merge from the client’s profile that you want to keep (except when merging a guest profile with an active client profile) because this is the profile that will be retained after merging.

For example, if you merge profile A and profile B from profile A, profile A will receive all the information from profile B, and profile B will be deleted.  It can take up to 20 minutes for the user ID (UID) of the merged profile to be removed from the system, so they may still appear in client reports for a brief period.

To learn more about profile merge scenarios and what information can be merged, see Merging client information.

To learn how to use an email for a client profile in your business that is already used in another business, see Troubleshooting: Client receives an Email Already Exists error when registering.

CautionMerging profiles cannot be reversed. If you are merging a profile from a client’s Overview page instead of the Duplicate Clients Report, profile details such as name and address cannot be merged, so ensure the profiles match and the profile receiving the merged information already contains an accurate copy of this information.

NoteIf you merge a deactivated client profile into an active one, the new profile will also be deactivated after the merge. To learn how to reactivate a deactivated client, see Reactivating a client.

NoteIf you’re merging a guest profile with an active client profile, you must start the merge from the guest profile. When the merge is complete, all the purchases made under the guest profile will be listed under the active client profile and any activity completed by this guest will now be attributed to their client profile in any relevant reports.

In this article:

    To merge two client profiles:

    1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
    2. In the list of clients displayed, click the client’s name.
    3. On the Overview page, click the Action button and select Merge Clients.
    4. In the Find user to merge with… field, enter the name of the second client profile.
    5. Click the profile you want to merge into the current profile.
    6. Click MERGE.
    7. Click OK.

    To merge a staff member’s associated client profile with another client profile:

    1. Click the App Drawer button .
    2. In the App Drawer, click View All.
    3. In the list, click Setup. You can filter the list by entering Setup into the Search field.
    4. On the Setup menu, click Staff.
    5. On the Staff menu, click Staff Members.
    6. Click the staff member into which the client profile should be merged.
    7. Click Switch to client profile.
    8. On the Overview page, click the Action button and select Merge Clients.
    9. In the Find user to merge with… field, enter the name of the second client profile.
    10. Click the profile you want to merge into the current profile.
    11. Click MERGE.
    12. Click OK.
    Was this article helpful?
    (191 out of 198 people found this article helpful )

    What can we do better?

    Thank you!