Saving a client’s credit card information

A client’s credit card information can be saved to their profile as a payment method. This information can be saved by adding a credit card to a client’s profile, or by choosing to save credit card information at checkout when making a sale.

You can enable a setting that automatically saves a client’s credit card account during checkout in the store. Even if this option is enabled, staff members can override this setting at checkout on a client’s behalf.

To learn how to do this for ACH accounts, see Saving a client’s ACH Account.

To learn how to change a client’s payment method for a session pass or membership, see Changing a client’s payment method for a purchase option.

When saving a client’s credit card information, keep the following information in mind:

  • The credit card that is used to purchase a membership will be automatically charged for scheduled auto-payments, even if it is not saved as the default credit card. To ensure the system charges the default credit card, you can update your client’s payment method by selecting the default credit card under the Payment Method column on the Passes & Memberships page.
  • When no default payment method is selected and a client is automatically billed, the credit card payment method most recently saved to the client’s profile will be used by default. If no credit card payment method is available, the ACH payment method most recently saved to the client’s profile will be used by default.
  • If your business has multiple locations but uses a different merchant processor at one or more location(s), clients’ credit cards and other billing information will be stored separately for each location. In this situation, if you want to change a client’s billing information, you must open the client’s profile and apply changes in each business location.

CautionImported credit cards may not follow the business rules configured in your store settings.

In this article:

    To add or modify a saved credit card on a client’s profile:

    1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
    2. In the list of clients displayed, click the client’s name.
    3. On the side menu, click Account.
    4. On the Account menu, click Billing & Account Balance.
    5. On the Billing & Account Balance page, add or modify a credit card:
      • To add a new credit card, click ADD A CREDIT CARD.
      • To modify a client’s credit card, find the credit card you want to modify and click EDIT. Under Billing information, select the Add New Billing Address option.
    6. Enter or change the client’s credit card and billing information.
      • If you change a client’s existing credit card information, such as the EXPIRY DATE, CARD NICKNAME, or BILLING INFORMATION, you must also re-enter the credit card number.
      • If you change a client’s existing credit card information, only the client’s future transactions will use the updated information. The client’s past transactions will maintain the client’s previous credit card information.
    7. Click SAVE.
      • If more than one payment method is saved to the client’s profile, you will have the option to set a default payment method. Select the Set as default payment method under the payment method you want the client to pay with by default.

    To save credit card information at checkout:

    1. Make a sale.
    2. Under Select a Payment Method, click Virtual Terminal.
      • To add an additional credit card to a client’s profile, click ADD NEW.
    3. Enter the required credit card information.
    4. Set the following options as required:
      • To save the payment method for the client, set the Save Payment to Client Profile option to ON.
        • If the option to Save Payment to Client Profile is set to ON, the credit card information will be saved to the client’s profile after the purchase is completed. If the credit card information is deleted from the client’s profile, the billing address will continue to appear when Virtual Terminal is selected at checkout. To prevent the billing address from being saved, set the Save Payment to Client Profile option to OFF.
      • To set this credit card as the client’s default payment method, set the Default payment method option to ON.
      • To apply a payment plan, set the Apply payment plan option to ON. For more information, see How to apply a payment plan at checkout.
    1. In the Shopping Cart, click Complete to finish the transaction.

    To enable saving credit card information by default:

    1. Click the App Drawer button .
    2. In the App Drawer, click Setup.
    3. On the Setup menu, click Store configuration.
    4. On the Store configuration menu, click Store settings.
    5. Under Save Banking and Credit Card Information, set the By default, client banking and credit card information will be saved when a staff member makes a sale to the client option to ON.
    6. Click SAVE.

    To remove a saved credit card from a client’s profile:

    1. On the Top Nav Bar, click the Search button , and enter the client’s information in the box. You can enter the client’s name, phone number, email address, UID, or client ID.
    2. In the list of clients displayed, click the client’s name.
    3. On the side menu, click Account.
    4. On the Account menu, click Billing & Account Balance.
    5. Find the credit card you want to remove and click the Remove button .
    6. In the confirmation popup, click OK.
    Was this article helpful?
    (165 out of 168 people found this article helpful)
    Cancel