Your clients are receiving notification emails even though you have turned off the client’s notification settings in the client profile.
When performing any backend tasks that would trigger emails being sent to the client, please wait 10 minutes before changing the clients notification settings in the client profile after the task has been completed.
Notification emails are queued prior to being sent. That means that any notification can take up to 10 minutes before being sent, and are sent in accordance with the client notification settings at the time they reach the top of the queue for being sent. Thus, any changes to the notification settings during this time can affect notifications within the queue.
For more information on how to change your client’s profile details, see Modifying a Client’s Profile Details.