Minnesota Capoeira Academy

Martial Arts School  in Minneapolis , MN

5415 1/2 Nicollet Ave
Minneapolis , MN , 55419
  • Martial Arts School in Minneapolis, MN
  • Martial Arts School in Minneapolis, MN
  • Martial Arts School in Minneapolis, MN
Approved

Minnesota Capoeira Academy

Get directions 5415 1/2 Nicollet Ave
 
Add to favourites
Minneapolis , MN , 55419
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Saint Paul
Jun 10, 2015

This place is awesome! The teachers and class members were so welcoming and friendly that I quickly dropped the feelings of intimidation I felt before heading to the class. The studio is clean, light and inviting with super cool murals on the wall and great (live!) music. I got a great workout in an hour long class including a warm up, instruction, practice and ending with what reminded me of an old school break dancing circle, capoeira style.  They've got a really great community, down to earth and super positive vibe where anybody is truly welcome. I can't wait to go back to learn and practice more!

8 Total Reviews
4.38 4.38 4.38 4.38 4.38
8 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest

5 5 5 5 5
Feb 1, 2017

I enjoyed trying this class for the first time. I was looking for something new and exciting. I felt welcomed right away.  I Enjoyed learning slowly in a small independent group. At the end, I participated in a larger group setting and was able to show off what I learned. Its a lot initially with the language and the movements but like a dance, the basics turn into bigger movements. I truly enjoyed my time.

Roseville
4 4 4 4 4
Feb 3, 2016
Roseville

Hard class, friendly instructors. I went on a Wed, on here, it says one hour but it's really a 2 hour class. I only stayed for the hour, it was hard. I would like to try it on Mon since that's the beginners class. Overall, it was a fun workout, I used all my body.

Minnesota Capoeira Academy comment

Thank you for the review! we can't wait to have you back!

5 5 5 5 5
Jun 10, 2015

This place is awesome! The teachers and class members were so welcoming and friendly that I quickly dropped the feelings of intimidation I felt before heading to the class. The studio is clean, light and inviting with super cool murals on the wall and great (live!) music. I got a great workout in an hour long class including a warm up, instruction, practice and ending with what reminded me of an old school break dancing circle, capoeira style.  They've got a really great community, down to earth and super positive vibe where anybody is truly welcome. I can't wait to go back to learn and practice more!

Minneapolis
4 4 4 4 4
Apr 8, 2015
Minneapolis

This workout was very interesting it was good for balance core strength I liked it

Burnsville
5 5 5 5 5
Nov 3, 2014
Burnsville

This class kicked my butt! It looks easy but is very challenging. Very good workout, just be ready for it! :-)

Minneapolis
4 4 4 4 4
Oct 14, 2014
Minneapolis

Great energy. Friendly instructors. Less than clean floor mats.

Minneapolis
4 4 4 4 4
Sep 9, 2014
Minneapolis

The class I attended was 1.5 hours long and included instruction on learning different defense moves and some kicks. There is also a portion of the class during which you interact with other students while practicing your new moves.

The class was too long for me and there was too much to keep in mind so I felt burned out by the end. If you're good at following aerobics routines or have martial arts experience (I'm not and I don't), you will probably do well in this class. I did have fun and the instructors were patient and kind, so I'd definitely recommend it, with the caveats above.

Eden Prairie
4 4 4 4 4
Mar 12, 2014
Eden Prairie

Very fun. As described it is a mix of martial arts and dance.  There is a rich history and story behind its inception and the instructors kept people learning and working. It was fun meeting new people and sharing the experience with people at different levels of discipline. Very kind people work as hard or as easy as you need.


 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Saint Paul
Jun 10, 2015

This place is awesome! The teachers and class members were so welcoming and friendly that I quickly dropped the feelings of intimidation I felt before heading to the class. The studio is clean, light and inviting with super cool murals on the wall and great (live!) music. I got a great workout in an hour long class including a warm up, instruction, practice and ending with what reminded me of an old school break dancing circle, capoeira style.  They've got a really great community, down to earth and super positive vibe where anybody is truly welcome. I can't wait to go back to learn and practice more!

Business Hours *

Martial Arts School HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
6:30pm - 8:30pm
Closed
Closed
6:30pm - 8:30pm
Closed
1pm - 3pm
Closed
* Holiday Schedules Vary - Please contact us for more info