Body & Brain - Brookline

Yoga Studio  in Brookline , MA

235 Harvard St
Brookline , MA , 02446
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
Approved

Body & Brain - Brookline

Get directions 235 Harvard St
 
Add to favourites
Brookline , MA , 02446
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Brookline, MA
Aug 23, 2017

I'm a yoga novice, so I was a bit intimidated taking the meridian stretching class but there no reason to be. I had my very first yoga class at Body & Brain with Courtney and it was just wonderful. She was incredibly helpful in teaching the correct way to do poses and helped each student 1-on-1. Courtney was really encouraging and definitely made me want to come back for more classes. The class, which was focused on releasing tension, was just what I needed too. I found the hand and foot shaking loads of fun and a great way to release all the tension I'd been feeling in my body. I'm looking forward to going back for more classes!

30 Total Reviews
4.57 4.57 4.57 4.57 4.57
30 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 3

Brookline
5 5 5 5 5
Aug 23, 2017
Brookline

I'm a yoga novice, so I was a bit intimidated taking the meridian stretching class but there no reason to be. I had my very first yoga class at Body & Brain with Courtney and it was just wonderful. She was incredibly helpful in teaching the correct way to do poses and helped each student 1-on-1. Courtney was really encouraging and definitely made me want to come back for more classes. The class, which was focused on releasing tension, was just what I needed too. I found the hand and foot shaking loads of fun and a great way to release all the tension I'd been feeling in my body. I'm looking forward to going back for more classes!

4 4 4 4 4
Mar 5, 2017

I haven't tried 'Energy Yoga' before, I would have to say that it was an interesting experience. My favorite parts of the session include:
1) Creating an energy field between the palms - I was surprised that such a simple activity would help me focus. The music they play during this time is perfect.
2) The exercise has a good mix of yoga and meditation
3) The room is open, airy and has just the right amount of sun. Very calming.
4) The tea which they serve at the end of the session is just delicious!
My not-so-favorite parts include:
1) The body tapping and shaking were new to me - I'm not sure if I can get used to it.
2) There don't seem to be many class options on the pass - I can only see the Sunday session on my schedule

Body & Brain - Brookline comment

Thanks for your review Apeksha!
We're actually in the process of adjusting our schedule to provide a few more classes each week to Wellness living users.
Stay tuned for the schedule updates... and hopefully see you soon!

5 5 5 5 5
Jul 28, 2016

My first class at Brookline center was with Courtney and I was pleasantly surprised by the belly button exercise she made us do. I am well versed with yoga, but belly button exercise was a first for me and I felt the benefits of it immediately!

Since then, I tried couple more of their classes and decided to enroll and have been coming to body & brain for the last three weeks. Both Courtney and David instructors at this studio are great. Body & brain yoga is different from conventional yoga studios that you find today. It is more centered towards energy chakras in your body (especially chakra 2 (dahn jo) and the exercises are meditative in nature. Recommend their 1 to 1 intro session, which gives more information on the program and a chance to try before you commit.

Another plus is the after class tea, it is a flavorful tea made up of goji berries, dates and cinnamon. A relaxing way to end the class.

Body & Brain - Brookline comment

Thanks Vinisha! What kind words. We are very pleased to have you join us for classes! Have a wonderful weekend. David and Danielle will see you Monday :).
-Courtney

4 4 4 4 4
Jan 18, 2016

I came to Body & Brain in Brookline on a snowy Monday morning.  It was my first time trying this studio as well as this type of yoga class.  The class was pretty empty (it was a holiday however); just myself, the instructor, and one other lady there to practice.  I was surprised by the tapping and intestine exercises; they felt strange at first but I quickly got into it and found it energizing.

The class itself was much slower paced than what I was typically used to but provided the stretch and relaxation I needed.  The studio was clean, modern, and cozy.  And the group tea at the end of the class was relaxing and very inviting.  Overall, it was an interesting experience and I would definitely return to take a class.

Body & Brain - Brookline comment

Thanks Courtney! It was great to have you this morning :). Enjoy some relaxation today. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Keep up with the Intestine Exercises! :)

4 4 4 4 4
Nov 4, 2015

I took the Dahn Yoga class on Tuesday night. Even with reading the class description, I wasn’t quite sure what I was in for as I had never heard of Dahn Yoga before. I was pleasantly surprised by the class. I have been practicing yoga for some years now, and generally prefer the more hard-core, fast-paced yoga sessions. This class paired unique practices, including parts when you could tap different parts of your body (shoulders, stomach, lower belly) to “wake them up,” with classic practices, including downward dog, happy baby, child’s pose, and shavasana. I definitely left the class more energized and well-stretched. The tea at the end was also heavenly – I actually looked to order some right when I got home. Try it!

4 4 4 4 4
Sep 29, 2015

the class is usually 75 minutes of stretching exercises with tapping your stomach. ( try a class to understand stomach tapping) result is these deep stretches help you sleep better, feel lighter. it has been even better than yoga or pilates for me. if you have any back issues like myself, you should try this class. the first thing you notice about the place, is their warm welcome and how clean it is. ideal for people of all age groups.

5 5 5 5 5
Sep 11, 2015

Very nice!  It is very different.  But I enjoyed the strengthening class quite a lot.  Thanks for Barbara's instructions.  It was really eyes-opening experience.  I really enjoyed the class.

5 5 5 5 5
Jun 16, 2015

That was my first time at Dahn Yoga. The front desk lady was very welcoming and showed me around. The mats were prepared based on the number of students registered for the class. The class was interactive as Davit let everybody participate in counting. First part of the class was to warm up and awaken the body. I started feeling good after first exercises. The next part focused on core and endurance, stretching. The last part of the class brought the body and mind together. I felt amazing after the class- relaxed and energized at the same time. At the end of the class David treated students with a cup of herbal tea and a conversation about nutrition and health.
I absolutely loved the class, instructor and the place! Will be coming back soon.

4 4 4 4 4
Jun 11, 2015

This was my first time visiting and I had instructor David. When I arrived, I am happy I listened to the directions and arrive 15 minutes earlier because I was able to find meter parking right in front. When I walk in, it was very serene. I was greeted promptly and given a tour. I really liked the tour so that now I knew where everything was. I talked a bit with the friendly receptionist and was shown where my class would be. I relaxed a little and class started on time.
The instructor was GREAT! This was my first time in a yoga class and I was scared that I would fall behind but even though it was my first time and everyone else 50th time there, he still explained it all and was patient with us. Throughout the class, he would walk around and help as needed which I thought was very helpful. After the class we all relaxed some more with some hot tea and conversation. I will definetely be visiting again.

On the con, i thought i was going to sweat more but i didn't so i think i didn't pick the right yoga class but i did enjoy the one i had!

Boston
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 4, 2015
Boston

Such a nice little yoga studio!! I love it not just because of the awesome yoga teacher or the relaxing classes, but also the nicest customer service. People there are so nice, and you can feel the atmosphere of connection. Yoga is all about building connection between you and people around you, your mind and your body, your breath and your movement. They made it and I love it.


Pages: 1 2 3
 

MORE LOCATIONS
Body & Brain - Cambridge
1773 B Massachusetts Avenue (downstairs), Cambridge, MA, 02140, USA
Body & Brain - Arlington
325 Broadway, Arlington, MA, 02474, USA

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Brookline, MA
Aug 23, 2017

I'm a yoga novice, so I was a bit intimidated taking the meridian stretching class but there no reason to be. I had my very first yoga class at Body & Brain with Courtney and it was just wonderful. She was incredibly helpful in teaching the correct way to do poses and helped each student 1-on-1. Courtney was really encouraging and definitely made me want to come back for more classes. The class, which was focused on releasing tension, was just what I needed too. I found the hand and foot shaking loads of fun and a great way to release all the tension I'd been feeling in my body. I'm looking forward to going back for more classes!

Business Hours *

Yoga Studio HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
8am - 8:30pm
8am - 8:30pm
8am - 8:30pm
8am - 8:30pm
Open8am - 8:30pm
9am - 4pm
10:30am - 2:30pm
* Holiday Schedules Vary - Please contact us for more info