Yoga Union

Yoga Studio  in New York , NY

37 West 28th Street 4th Floor
New York , NY , 10001

Yoga Union

Get directions 37 West 28th Street 4th Floor
 
Add to favourites
New York , NY , 10001
 
Add to favourites
 
 
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2020

I've been a fan of Yoga Union for years now.  The brilliant instructors there (all of them!) have helped me live pain-free with scoliosis for some time.   They make me stronger, more flexible and healthy, too!  Today, during the Covid-19 closure, not only did I receive wonderful, precise instruction, but also, a calming presence in the storm -- via virtual instruction.  Yoga Union provides cutting edge instruction -- well-researched, well-trained, well- delivered -- with precise language and sincere care.  Go there when you can, but for now, reach out for a virtual class!

39 Total Reviews
4.95 4.95 4.95 4.95 4.95
39 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 ... 4

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 17, 2020
New York, NY USA

I've been a fan of Yoga Union for years now.  The brilliant instructors there (all of them!) have helped me live pain-free with scoliosis for some time.   They make me stronger, more flexible and healthy, too!  Today, during the Covid-19 closure, not only did I receive wonderful, precise instruction, but also, a calming presence in the storm -- via virtual instruction.  Yoga Union provides cutting edge instruction -- well-researched, well-trained, well- delivered -- with precise language and sincere care.  Go there when you can, but for now, reach out for a virtual class!

Long Island City, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 1, 2020
Long Island City, NY USA

I and have been going to Yoga Union for some time now, classes for scoliosis with Kathleen always right on point and focusing on different needs to each student. Kathleen is very knowledgeable and dedicated instructor who takes a pride in her work, she is the Best!
I am so glad I found your Yoga place where I can come to practice and feel comfortable not being self conches  about my back issue. After every classes I feel so great and I wish I could come every day and practice more often.
Also big thank you to Alison West for creating such Cousy and Zen place with a lot of benefits for all of us with special back issues. Your place is unique and I enjoy every time coming for scoliosis classes with Kathleen .
May sucsess and abundance always follows you!
Irina D.

5 5 5 5 5
Feb 8, 2020

For as long as I can remember, I’ve experienced constant, dull back pain. It wasn’t until recently that I realized that while this was my normal, this didn’t need to be my reality. I am so glad that I stumbled across Yoga Union, as it’s opened my mind to an entirely new world that I know will ultimately lead me to a life of less pain and more freedom to move in my body. The first Scoliosis class I took at Yoga Union was very customized to each individual and I felt very taken care of. The instructor examined my back and described specific poses as they related to my own curves and concaves. I am looking forward to going back and progressing with my pain-free journey!

New York City
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 5, 2020
New York City

I thoroughly enjoyed Christy’s alignment 1 class. I have been practising yoga for a number of years but have never before practised a slings and ropes class. This was fascinating to me. Christy clearly and concisely explained each posture. It was a very different sensation using slings and ropes but it was wonderful.

East Hampton
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 26, 2020
East Hampton

Yoga Union is an incredible place. meticulous in its presentation, a welcoming feeling, students with focus and integrity...and of course the wonderful Alison West, who's experience and dedication and skill is an inspiration.
She is drawing from the source of the ancient texts, the reverence to art and tradition of the practice, and creativity with new ways of approaching it always. I attended the Ropes and Slings training, and will return again for more.

Brooklyn
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 14, 2020
Brooklyn

This was the most informative Yoga class I have been to.

Jamie makes sure you understand the reason and history behind everything you do during the class. I am a beginner and felt at ease and able to keep up with the class while still getting a lot out of it.

At the end of the class during the resting period Jamie helped adjust my shoulder and neck which released a crazy amount of tension I didn't even know I had while just lying on the floor.

The studio is really quiet and welcoming and doesn't have any particular smell to it which is nice. I'll definitely be going back !

Manhattan, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 7, 2020
Manhattan, NY USA

I started attending the scoliosis yoga classes in June of 2018.  As soon as I started, I could feel a significant difference in the way I was moving.  The instructors taught me about my spine and facts that I hadn't known before, and I have become much more body conscious.  Even when I am at home, I am continuously practicing the poses I learn in class.  I have learned how to de-rotate my spine and have been able to de-rotate so much that my spine in my X-Ray is much more clearer (which my doctor told me was because I have been able to de-rotate it so much).  I walk out of class feeling so refreshed and ready to do everything I need to do.  I am so grateful that my dance teacher recommended me to try this studio because I have fallen in love!  My spine's degrees have decreased tremendously and I believe it has something to do with all of the scoliosis yoga I practice: in class and at home.  Thank you!!

New York
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 4, 2020
New York

My experience with Yoga Union started in October 2019 with  Judy Rosquete and, as soon as I read the 5-Saturday course for Scoliosis with Kaitlyn Hipple,  I changed life my plans and registered.  I practically fell in love with her classes because no physical therapist had ever explained to me what Kaitlyn did in those 5 weeks;  and she did the same with each of the other 6 or 7 participants.  I am re-scheduling my activities to attend at least Kaitlyn's Sunday classes at 11 am because it's making a difference to my spine and well being day by day.  My daily sitting, walking, standing, . . . requires now some attention as to my relationship with my spine and the intention to de-rotate it {all this is new to me}.  Sorry I did not know about YogaUnion years ago, but I am happy that many young persons are taking care of their spine at an earlier age there.  The place is great and very well prepared to welcome anybody interested in developing a knowledgeable relationship with her/his own body -- something that MD's don't like to encourage.

Brooklyn
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 1, 2020
Brooklyn

My first time in this studio. A beautiful tranquil clean space. I love Witold! A wonderful yogi and teacher. A deeply restorative class to begin the new year. What a lovely way to enter2020.

Englewood, NJ USA
5 5 5 5 5
Nov 20, 2019
Englewood, NJ USA

I had the opportunity to take a workshop with Alison West founder of Yoga Union. What a welcoming and warm yoga studio!  During the 3 hour workshop, Alison covered anatomy, yoga asana and the practical applications of aligned movement. Knowledgeable, focused - with a great sense of humor, Alison led us through high level material but made it accessible. I look forward to returning to the studio to take more classes.


Pages: 1 2 ... 4
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2020

I've been a fan of Yoga Union for years now.  The brilliant instructors there (all of them!) have helped me live pain-free with scoliosis for some time.   They make me stronger, more flexible and healthy, too!  Today, during the Covid-19 closure, not only did I receive wonderful, precise instruction, but also, a calming presence in the storm -- via virtual instruction.  Yoga Union provides cutting edge instruction -- well-researched, well-trained, well- delivered -- with precise language and sincere care.  Go there when you can, but for now, reach out for a virtual class!

Business Hours *

Yoga Studio HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
9am - 6:30pm
9am - 6:45pm
9am - 7:45pm
9am - 6:45pm
11:45am - 6:30pm
8:30am - 12:30pm
10:30am - 4:45pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.