Yoga Union

Yoga Studio  in New York , NY

37 West 28th Street 4th Floor
New York , NY , 10001

Yoga Union

Get directions 37 West 28th Street 4th Floor
 
Add to favourites
New York , NY , 10001
 
Add to favourites
 
 
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Valatie, NY
Mar 17, 2020

I've been a fan of Yoga Union for years now.  The brilliant instructors there (all of them!) have helped me live pain-free with scoliosis for some time.   They make me stronger, more flexible and healthy, too!  Today, during the Covid-19 closure, not only did I receive wonderful, precise instruction, but also, a calming presence in the storm -- via virtual instruction.  Yoga Union provides cutting edge instruction -- well-researched, well-trained, well- delivered -- with precise language and sincere care.  Go there when you can, but for now, reach out for a virtual class!

39 Total Reviews
4.95 4.95 4.95 4.95 4.95
39 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 3 4

5 5 5 5 5
Aug 23, 2019

I go to the alignment classes at Yoga Union, and they are very helpful for my mild but persistent back pain. They also strengthen me holistically, which is a good complement (and antidote) to weight training. All the instructors I've had are excellent, but I'm sending a particular shoutout to Jamie who is exceptionally creative and friendly. I love that the classes aren't as crowded as at other New York studios, which means I don't bump into others and I get lots of personal attention. It was daunting for me to try out a studio for people with scoliosis and herniated discs when those aren't my issues -- but I'm so, so glad I did!

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jul 22, 2019
New York, NY USA

My first class was tonight and I will be back very soon!

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jul 3, 2019
New York, NY USA

When I walked into YogaUnion for my "Herniation Basics" class, I was in a lot of pain and incredibly stiff and leaning to one side. The teacher Kaitlyn was AMAZING! She is so knowledgeable about back issues—and also so patient with yoga newbies like me! After the 75-minute class, I was pain-free and able to stand up perfectly straight! Of course, I shall be returning to Yoga Union regularly.—Fran

5 5 5 5 5
Jun 21, 2019

On January 15, 2019 I had a 7-level thoracic fusion from T5 through T12 due to severe disc degeneration.  Prior to this surgery I had been practicing yoga for 10+ years and teaching yoga for 3 years.  My pain prior to surgery was excruciating.  I feared yoga wouldn't be in my future.  I took Kaitlyn Hipple's class for fusions on Sunday, June 16th, just 5 months after my surgery, and I felt AMAZING.  Kaitlyn was very attentive to the fact that it was my first class after my surgery, as well as what I should and shouldn't do.  She was very encouraging and her instruction was great.  Afterward, I felt really good, and the next day, even better.  The space is beautiful as well, and has a great feel to it.  Looking forward to my next class this Sunday.

3 3 3 3 3
Jun 3, 2019

Scoliosis class was above my level of ability. Though Kat did her best to accommodate my difficulties I felt very inept and behind the other participants and I ultimately left early. This was my last class at the introductory price and I cannot afford to return to Union. The pricing should be more flexible for seniors.

Long Island City, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
May 20, 2019
Long Island City, NY USA

The Yoga Union is my favorite yoga studio in the city. In fact, it is the only place I trust with my back as there is minimal chance of injury. Their teachers are so knowledgeable and can modify any pose to suit your needs.

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
May 17, 2019
New York, NY USA

THE yoga studio to go to for intelligent, illuminating teaching. I’ve been going for several years now, after many years of practice and teacher training in vinyasa yoga. The focus on alignment has transformed my practice, enabling me to correct imbalances and practice with a deeper awareness. Alison’s teaching is a continuous source of delightful insights and inventive use of props to help students develop their practice in whatever way is best for them. The classes are rigorous and require students to think about and fully integrate what is being taught, not just imitate the teacher or go through the motions. Truly a complete mind-body practice!

Staten Island, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 23, 2019
Staten Island, NY USA

Yoga Union has taught me more about my body , education , communication and being involved in a group than any other place.  I am grateful for the healing and insight I am getting and have gotten. This is place where they teach you to learn and tailor your practice to fit yourself. It is the haute couture of yoga.

5 5 5 5 5
Apr 21, 2019

I had my first class at Yoga Union today. First impressions of the physical space: bright, airy, free, encouraging.
The class with Jamison was a delight. I found subtle changes in my positioning through the use of the sling and felt his suggestions were easy to understand and yet very deep in their impact on how I was holding my hips and back.
My sense overall is that this is a dedicated place to understanding the interplay of muscles and tendons and their impact on the psyche of the person. I can imagine this as a long term resource to maintaining a health posture and a calm, yet focussed disposition. Overall I would say its one of those New York treasures that it relatively modest in its presentation yet gives a tremendous amount to people lucky enough to discover it.

Brooklyn
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 16, 2019
Brooklyn

This was my first time joining and I am thrilled that I did! Judy is an excellent teacher! Her skill, patience, and individualized attention were SO reassuring and helpful. I can't wait to come back!


Pages: 1 2 3 4
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Valatie, NY
Mar 17, 2020

I've been a fan of Yoga Union for years now.  The brilliant instructors there (all of them!) have helped me live pain-free with scoliosis for some time.   They make me stronger, more flexible and healthy, too!  Today, during the Covid-19 closure, not only did I receive wonderful, precise instruction, but also, a calming presence in the storm -- via virtual instruction.  Yoga Union provides cutting edge instruction -- well-researched, well-trained, well- delivered -- with precise language and sincere care.  Go there when you can, but for now, reach out for a virtual class!

Business Hours *

Yoga Studio HOURS*

Monday
9:00 am - 6:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 6:45 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 7:45 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 6:45 pm
Friday
11:45 am - 6:30 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 12:30 pm
Sunday
10:30 am - 4:45 pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.