Yoga Union

Yoga Studio  in New York , NY

37 West 28th Street 4th Floor
New York , NY , 10001

Yoga Union

Get directions 37 West 28th Street 4th Floor
 
Add to favourites
New York , NY , 10001
 
Add to favourites
 
 
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Valatie, NY
Mar 17, 2020

I've been a fan of Yoga Union for years now.  The brilliant instructors there (all of them!) have helped me live pain-free with scoliosis for some time.   They make me stronger, more flexible and healthy, too!  Today, during the Covid-19 closure, not only did I receive wonderful, precise instruction, but also, a calming presence in the storm -- via virtual instruction.  Yoga Union provides cutting edge instruction -- well-researched, well-trained, well- delivered -- with precise language and sincere care.  Go there when you can, but for now, reach out for a virtual class!

39 Total Reviews
4.95 4.95 4.95 4.95 4.95
39 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 ... 3 4

New York
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 18, 2019
New York

going to Yoga Union for prenatal yoga class .Hess is great, she teach a lot of things not only strength body, prepare the body ready for deliver but also give a lot of tips what we do in deliver  like how to get strong push in deliver, how to change the position in fail dilation. Will continue the class before i deliver

Holmdel, NJ USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 16, 2019
Holmdel, NJ USA

Going to Yoga Union and learning how to modify yoga for my scoliosis and spinal fusion is a huge mix of emotions. I'm incredibly grateful for the knowledge, attention to detail, and patience of the teachers; however, a lot of feelings arise from the experience. Having this condition and surgery was a traumatic experience in my life for many reasons, and one of those was likely being too young to deal with my reality. Our back is literally behind us, so I just don't see it, and unless I'm dealing with acute pain, I don't think about it.

Training at Yoga Union reminds me that this is my life's work, as Allison West said, because it will never go away. I've practiced yoga for over half my life, and I'm fortunate to know what to avoid or how to modify, for the most part. I've accepted my scars, but sometimes it's hard to accept my differences, and I just want to have a "normal" back like everyone else. I do feel like I fit in when I walk into Yoga Union, and yet that still means that my back looks nothing like anyone else's. However, there's that mutual connection that we acknowledge that, and still work towards feeling better.

Massapequa, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 11, 2019
Massapequa, NY USA

I have a lumbar herniation, which had been causing pain in my bag and leg for some time. My orthopedist suggested Yoga Union as an alternative to PT (which I didn't like, and which had gotten very expensive with my new insurance plan). I'd never done yoga before, and was dubious, but decided to give it a try.

That was about 3 years ago. I've been going to the Herniation and Posture Basics class once a week or so since then. Not only has it helped my back tremendously, to the point where I rarely have any pain, I really love the classes. I find them to be both challenging and relaxing, which I know seems contradictory. The exercises are varied, so that it's never boring, and that last 5 minutes of class, when we rest, is often enough to almost put me to sleep.

The instructors I've had have all been extremely knowledgeable about anatomy and physiology, explaining which muscles are being worked. They take the time to learn not only the students' names, but also whatever condition they're dealing with, be it herniation, scoliosis, or something else, and tailor the exercises to the needs of the student. I really can't recommend them highly enough for their knowledge, professionalism, and care.

Yoga Union comment

Thank you, dear Beth, for your kind words. It's wonderful to know how much you have been helped in such a short period of time!
Alison

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 11, 2019
New York, NY USA

I was referred by my physician to Yoga Union, and I can’t say enough phenomenal things about them, but I will try. The staff is warm, welcoming, and professional. Every one of them is truly dedicated and extremely knowledgeable about yoga and it’s use for treating scoliosis. I have worked with three instructors so far, and they were all so kind and helpful, but also got me to stretch (literally and figuratively) to my utmost abilities. I have also seen real improvements in my appearance and most importantly in a reduction of pain. They are truly life saving and transformative, and I am so glad I know about them. The physical facility is also charming, and they provide many suggestions for what can be done at home.

Yoga Union comment

Thank you for your kind words, dear Joanne!
Alison

5 5 5 5 5
Mar 10, 2019

Loved my beginner herniation class with Christy. She took us step by step through each pose to reduce pressure on our back and taught us useful techniques to ensure proper alignment. She also came around to adjust postures for everyone, which I found very helpful. My friend suggested this studio because she loved it, too. I'm really glad I went. I'll definitely be back again!

Yoga Union comment

Thank you for your kind words, dear Yuxi Lin! We appreciate your enthusiasm,
Alison

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 10, 2019
New York, NY USA

have been going to Yoga Union now for 10 years for my hyper-kyphosis. The amazing yoga teachers adjust the work to my needs and help me to feel better and breathe more deeply. They are kind, patient and I always feel that they are doing what is best for me. Alison, Kaitlyn and Jamie are my heroes!"

Yoga Union comment

Thank you, dear Judy. We appreciate your kind words and your presence all these years at Yoga Union.

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 9, 2019
New York, NY USA

I have been going to Yoga Union now for 10 years. My kypfosis has worsened over the years, and the amazing yoga teachers have adjusted what I am able to do. They are kind, patient and I always feel that they are doing what is best for me. Allison, Kaitlyn  and Jamie are my heroes!

Astoria, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 9, 2019
Astoria, NY USA

Took a workshop with Allison West and assistant teacher Kaitlyn Hipple - both were truly amazing - keen observations, deep knowledge and hands-on approach helped me with some SI issues tremendously. I cannot recommend highly enough!!

Yoga Union comment

Thank you, dear Masako, It was a pleasure having you at Yoga Union. Come back!

New York, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 17, 2019
New York, NY USA

The most knowledgable yoga teachers on earth.  I started going 11 years ago when I was in constant pain due to my scoliosis.  I remain pain-free with regular yoga classes.  Alison West is a treasure.

Yoga Union comment

Thank you, dear Helene. We are so happy to have students who stay with us through the years and help us to grow!


Pages: 1 ... 3 4
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Valatie, NY
Mar 17, 2020

I've been a fan of Yoga Union for years now.  The brilliant instructors there (all of them!) have helped me live pain-free with scoliosis for some time.   They make me stronger, more flexible and healthy, too!  Today, during the Covid-19 closure, not only did I receive wonderful, precise instruction, but also, a calming presence in the storm -- via virtual instruction.  Yoga Union provides cutting edge instruction -- well-researched, well-trained, well- delivered -- with precise language and sincere care.  Go there when you can, but for now, reach out for a virtual class!

Business Hours *

Yoga Studio HOURS*

Monday
9:00 am - 6:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 6:45 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 7:45 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 6:45 pm
Friday
11:45 am - 6:30 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 12:30 pm
Sunday
10:30 am - 4:45 pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.