Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy

Dance Studio  in Jersey City , NJ

83 Franklin Street
Jersey City , NJ , 07307
  • Dance Studio in Jersey City, NJ
  • Dance Studio in Jersey City, NJ
  • Dance Studio in Jersey City, NJ
  • Dance Studio in Jersey City, NJ
  • Dance Studio in Jersey City, NJ
  • Dance Studio in Jersey City, NJ

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy

Get directions 83 Franklin Street
 
Add to favourites
Jersey City , NJ , 07307
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
New Milford
Mar 8, 2020

Just wanted to say Thank You to Sfon2 for being such an awesome dance studio. Also, a shout out to our fearless leader, Mario B, for pushing us and wanting us to succeed all the time. I arrived knowing absolutely nothing about salsa especially On 2 style salsa, but Mario has the right syllabus and workshops to get you dancing. It's challenging, but well worth it. Whoever reads this and is serious about learning On 2 salsa the correct way, come here, you won't regret it, I sure didn't.

21 Total Reviews
4.9 4.9 4.9 4.9 4.9
21 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 3

5 5 5 5 5
Mar 8, 2020

Just wanted to say Thank You to Sfon2 for being such an awesome dance studio. Also, a shout out to our fearless leader, Mario B, for pushing us and wanting us to succeed all the time. I arrived knowing absolutely nothing about salsa especially On 2 style salsa, but Mario has the right syllabus and workshops to get you dancing. It's challenging, but well worth it. Whoever reads this and is serious about learning On 2 salsa the correct way, come here, you won't regret it, I sure didn't.

Jersey City
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 5, 2020
Jersey City

I started attending Salsa Fever On 2 under the impression that I was going to take a few lessons and be confident in my dancing skills. Little did I know that a year later, I am still learning and evolving. Mario B's passion for salsa rubs off on you, and makes you want to learn more, work harder and grow. The classes offered here go from the fundamental basics to advanced level. They also offer other styles of latin dance so you can explore and expand your skillset. Plus, it's just really f****** fun! Unexpectedly, I gained a salsa family who encourages and helps each other become better dancers. Highly recommend!!!

Jersey City
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 18, 2019
Jersey City

I walked into Mario’s SFON2 studio about 2 years ago, heartbroken, in search of new friends after graduating college and just feeling like I was lost in the daily monotonous routine of adult life. I always wanted to learn how to dance salsa but never had the courage to actually do it. Little did I know how much my life would change the second I stepped foot into that studio. I believe everything happens for a reason and dance came into my life when I needed it the most, 2 months after I started dancing I found out my dad was very ill and the SFON2 studio and the little “Salsa Family” I was creating became my stress outlet and something that allowed me to stay focused on the positive things, when it seemed like darkness and hopelessness surrounded me.

I showed up to class on a daily basis, challenged myself to learn the steps, I grew as a dancer and as an individual and here is why I have never left:

-SFON2 has a strong belief in mastering the fundamentals of dance, things that a person with no dance background has no idea they need. Balance, control, frame, TIMING. You spend time mastering proper foot placement, spacing, weight transfer and styling. For example, I learned a basic right turn DAY 1 of class and I am still learning new ways to perfect it.
-Quality instructions and Instructors - the classes are intimate, no overcrowding and people actually know your name. Because of this Mario and his staff able to focus on each student to ensure they’re learning and improving every time they show up to class. I always left feeling like I was getting better or I had a new homework assignment to work on and practice.
-I learned life lessons that I didn’t know I needed, to be used in dance and in life.
For example, during first private lesson with Mario I found myself saying “I can’t get this” and “this step is too hard”. Mario knocked on the wall and said “the wall is hard, these steps aren’t”
I also learned what it meant to keep yourself accountable for the things you do. If you don’t practice your steps, expect that you will not improve. Don’t be upset at the instructor or that the shines are too hard it’s you who isn’t doing what they’re supposed to.
-I gained confidence in myself that is evident in all aspects of my life.
-My Salsa Family is AWESOME!!!

As you can see so many positive things have come from being a student at SFON2. I am so grateful for the experience and I highly recommend this studio to anyone I come across. Truly a one of a kind space. If you’re ready for a positive change, take a salsa class with Mario, you’ll never regret it!

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

THANK YOU Patricia for your detailed review. Your review will bring hope and inspiration to everyone who need motivation to attend classes. You listen, attend classes, workshops, socials and followed through with all of the instructors advise and you are one of the most passionate students we have. We are extremely proud of your dedication and advancements. We are very proud to have you in the SFOn2 family.

Secaucus
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 18, 2019
Secaucus

I have danced “Street Salsa” all of my life..
From the old “Costa Colombiana” Junction Blvd Queens NY (My older brothers night club) to the “Copa” days and bottle service
at “Treinta Treinta” “Jimmy’s Bronx Cafe”
“Broadway 96” “Passions” “Drama’s”
“Foxes” “Les Poule” “Fantacias”...and had the honor to salsa on Thursday night
Latin night at “Windows On The World” 106th floor of the Trade Center.
Now that I’m single again everyone has there face glued to the phone with social media. No one is really dancing anymore so I wanted to get back to my ”Salsa”
and learn salsa on 2...With my first class I took my first step and Mario B kept it real..
“your a street salesero”..Mario B and his staff are true professionals with attention to detail and are helping me to take the street out of my salsa..(Going to be a lot of lessons) Mario B has the respect and knowledge for the dance/art of Salsa!

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

THANK YOU Richard for your authentic review. We are very proud of your progress and journey with us. Your commitment and hard work is paying off. Thank You for your patience and welcome to the SFOn2 family.

5 5 5 5 5
Oct 16, 2019

If you want the full Salsa experience then Salsa Fever On 2 is the place for you. They have put together the most fundamentally  sound curriculum that breaks everything down and ultimately comes together like puzzle pieces in a fun and easy way. Mario believes in the fundamentals and you see it in the curriculum. You take weekly cycles classes in which you learn new material while reinforcing what you have already learned. Each week builds upon the previous week and after time you are able to move up in Levels. That is when you see how the previous level is the foundation to the next and it starts to come together and really becomes fun. But what stands out for me by far are all the classes and workshops they offer and other dances styles! I mean wow, check them out on the website http://salsafeveron2.com/.  Everything is included with their Monthly pass. They are all great but the best workshop for me is how to dance with the rhythm of the music. Mario breaks it down like no one else. I have not listen to music the same after taking his workshop and it really makes a difference in becoming a better dancer. You can clearly see the knowledge and love Mario has for Salsa especially when you talk to him about the history of Salsa which he also teaches. Since going to SFO2 my knowledge of Salsa has far exceeded my Imagination! You frequently see the same people in classes and it definitely becomes a family environment. I have met some wonderful people and have even made some long lasting friendships that I hope I never lose. The instructors and assistance are AMAZING!!!

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

THANK YOU Teudi for your review. I'm very proud of your journey and accomplishments with us here at SFOn2. Keep up the great work and welcome to the SFOn2 family.

Jersey City
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 16, 2019
Jersey City

There is so much to say about Salsa Fever On 2 and its fearless leader Mario B. This dance school is extraordinary. The most unique aspect that is rarely found at any school is their ability to inspire and transform lives.

I've danced my entire life, learned multiple styles, performed professionally, and studied dance. Unfortunately, as it usually happens, life got in the way of my dancing, and I stopped doing it for a very long time. So when I found myself in a chaotic and stressful stage in my life, I wanted nothing more than return to the world of dance.

I chose Salsa because I needed to reconnect with my culture. My friend recommended SFOn2, so I went expecting to stand in a corner and be ignored as can happen with many dance studios. Everything written in the reviews about the curriculum, core classes, history lessons, musicality training, fabulous staff, etc. is genuinely on point. I had a fantastic time, but what I got was so much more: after 7 months, I can truly call this place my self-care temple.

Dance has a way of healing the soul. The school provides sensory engagement through music, conversations, partner work, and movement. The staff utilizes positive reinforcement, allowing you to laugh at the small stuff while paving the road to a personal journey of self-love. The members of the SFOn2 community are inclusive, compassionate, and caring. Every class includes inspiration and humor therapy from Mario B (Salsa Buddha). It also provides the students with a safe space to ask questions and receive help.

Am I learning Salsa? Hell yeah! But most importantly, I'm learning who I am, reconnecting with my Latina roots, fostering friendships, learning how to relax, and becoming stronger and whole again on my own.

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

THANK YOU so much Ivelisse for your generous review. You are the student that every instructor would be lucky and grateful to have in their student body. Welcome to the SFOn2 family.

4 4 4 4 4
Oct 15, 2019

I like SFon2 because the classes are centered around understanding the salsa basics in every aspect. I appreciate this approach because other schools do not teach nor enforce having a strong foundation to build upon. I only wish they offered more versions of salsa and other Latin dances.

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

Thank you for your feedback, Robyn, and for choosing to be a part of the SFon2 family. We know you could've chosen any dance school to learn Salsa and you chose us - And for that we are grateful.  Please check out our monthly calendar and our weekly newsletter, as we do offer over 40 classes per month. While SFon2's core focus is to teach our students the fundamentals of the NY "On2" style Mambo, we also offer a variety of open level classes such as ChaChaCha, Pachanga, Bachata, Afro Body Movement, Spinning and Styling, and much, much, more including seasonal Ballroom and Hustle classes.  Please visit our website. http://salsafeveron2.com/schedule/

Jersey City
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 15, 2019
Jersey City

I have been in several schools all over the USA. Started dancing in Chicago, then New Hampshire (in two different schools), then Boston, then Brooklyn and I finally ended up in Salsa Fever on 2 in Jersey City. I know how other schools are and I can tell that this School is the best. The classes are well designed for us to learn. They are all about quality. They make sure you learn, they watch you and they test you. I am happy I finally found my salsa family.

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

THANK YOU Carmen for TRUSTING in our instructors, structure and curriculum. We are very proud of your journey with us. Welcome to the SFOn2 family.

Jersey City
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 12, 2019
Jersey City

The best salsa school.
If you are looking for the best dance school, just walk in here.
Don’t even waste your time trying others.
They don’t just show how to dance, but they explain details until you understand.
If you are serious, they will teach you seriously even more.

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

THANK YOU Seiji for your honest feedback. You are one of the most talented students here at SFOn2. Keep up the great work and welcome to the SFOn2 family!

Jersey City
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 9, 2019
Jersey City

I started my salsa journey with SFon2 three years ago when I took my first class that I was nearly turned away from— I was taking a advanced-beginner class without taking any of the other coursework. I’m glad I wasn’t turned away! I was immediately hooked on the methodology and curriculum.  

I stopped taking class for a few years, because life got in the way, but I’m back and am enjoying every second of it.

Since returning, I have gained a deeper appreciation for the dance, history, music, and culture of Salsa. I’ve gained a community of fun-loving, kind, and talented salsa students willing to learn, grow, and laugh together. Mario doesn’t just want his students to learn the steps; he wants them to appreciate the art form and feel confident while doing so.

I cannot recommend this studio highly enough. The instructors are fun and thoughtful. The studio is clean and bright. The community of students is supportive and light-hearted. And, the salsa is so elfin good.

Salsa Fever On2 Dance Academy comment

THANK YOU Adriana for your detailed review and for your bubbly personality that can inspire any room. Welcome to the SFOn2 family.


Pages: 1 2 3
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
New Milford
Mar 8, 2020

Just wanted to say Thank You to Sfon2 for being such an awesome dance studio. Also, a shout out to our fearless leader, Mario B, for pushing us and wanting us to succeed all the time. I arrived knowing absolutely nothing about salsa especially On 2 style salsa, but Mario has the right syllabus and workshops to get you dancing. It's challenging, but well worth it. Whoever reads this and is serious about learning On 2 salsa the correct way, come here, you won't regret it, I sure didn't.

Business Hours *

Dance Studio HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
6pm - 10pm
6pm - 10pm
6pm - 10pm
6pm - 10pm
Closed
10am - 4pm
Closed
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.