Austin F.I.T. Center

Gym  in Austin , TX

4402 S. Congress Ave. # 6-7
Austin , TX , 78745
  • Gym in Austin, TX
  • Gym in Austin, TX
  • Gym in Austin, TX
  • Gym in Austin, TX
Approved

Austin F.I.T. Center

Get directions 4402 S. Congress Ave. # 6-7
 
Add to favourites
Austin , TX , 78745
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Austin, TX
Jul 21, 2015

Why more women weren't at this class I'll never know, but I definitely benefited from it. I got one on one time with Steve, who is clearly very knowledgeable and experienced in his craft, and more importantly, I learned skills which will not only be practical in the real world, but will definitely make a difference in a variety of scenarios.
A workout class with a purpose beyond vanity or health goals, this is a class that will empower you to take ownership of your safety and well being. Personally, I felt motivated to learn more about the techniques and will continue to develop them there. I'm new to Austin and this was my first class at Austin F.I.T, so needless to say, it left a great impression on me.
I firmly believe every woman should take a self-defense class at the very least once in their life. Information that could protect you from harm? Yes please!
Empower yourself and get over there before the word gets out :)

17 Total Reviews
4.76 4.76 4.76 4.76 4.76
17 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2

Austin
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 29, 2014
Austin

The instructors were great in making me feel comfortable and really teaching me the right way.  I really appreciate everything they did and I will be back.

Austin F.I.T. Center comment

Liz, it was a pleasure working with you. You were a fast learner and will be a fantastic kickboxer.looking forward to future trainin.

Austin
4 4 4 4 4
Mar 19, 2014
Austin

fun work out, great routine!

Austin F.I.T. Center comment

Thank you for the review Anafer!

Austin
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 8, 2014
Austin

The instructor is so informative and is always helpful for beginners! This class is non-stop from start to finish... it feels like a mix of kickboxing and boot camp. So worth your time!

Austin F.I.T. Center comment

Thank you Virginia for your comments. We are here to serve you.
See ya soon
Steve

Austin
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 28, 2014
Austin

Really impressed with the personal attention! I had never taken a kickboxing class, and this one is the real deal! They just jump you into it, and you are doing it!

Austin F.I.T. Center comment

Thank you liz!

Austin
4 4 4 4 4
Jan 15, 2014
Austin

I've never been to Austin F.I.T. and this was my first time taking a self defense class. The class instructor was so involved and very helpful! I got to learn a new skill, released some stressed, and surprisingly, got to build up a good sweat! Overall, this was a great first time experience.

Austin F.I.T. Center comment

Glad your fist experience with self defense and AFC was a good one.
See you soon
Steve

Austin
5 5 5 5 5
Nov 1, 2013
Austin

This place is kick-butt! I would recommend Austin FIT Center to anybody looking to better their workouts, gain strength and learn something new. I take the FIT Kick class with Steve (who is an absolutely wonderful instructor). I hate the big meat-head gym instructors that bark orders at you like you're on some weight loss show. Having played sports for the majority of my life, I don't need that intimidation tactic anymore.

But you won't find that with Steve. He explains each exercise to you, walking you through each step. Having never kick-boxed before, this was extremely helpful. I was a complete noob going in but Steve and the entire class were so understanding and helpful that I didn't feel awkward at all.

Everyone always talks about how in a really good workout, you will push yourself to better yourself. At Austin FIT, you really do feel that way. I had an absolutely amazing time. Even though I'm still sore from throwing all those punches, I'm literally counting down the days until my next class.

The only con (and I agree with Jenna) is the location as in it's a little confusing on where to walk in. When I first got there, I saw some gym equipment through what appeared to be a garage door opening. Figured it had to be there. Quite confusing if you're not familiar with the area.

This is a great place to workout and have an expert instructor along the way! Try it out, you won't be disappointed.

Austin F.I.T. Center comment

AWESOME review maria!
Do the same on yelp please lol
now you've been a member for over a year. We are very lucky to have you as a member, friend and now a coach.
See ya soon!
Steve

Austin
4 4 4 4 4
Sep 25, 2013
Austin

I had a great first experience at Austin F.I.T. Center, and I WILL be going back.
I have worked out my entire life; I played basketball in college and have since been lifting and doing some sort of cardio often.  I was looking for something different, and something where I wasn't just working out by myself.
I took the F.I.T. Circuit class, and it was just what I was looking for.  Upon arriving, Steve (the instructor) came up to me, introduced himself, and gave me some information about the class.  I filled out some paperwork and I was ready to go.
The class started with a total-body warm-up, and then we hit the circuit training.
Before every exercise, Steve would explain each exercise, demonstrate each each exercise, and would explain what part of the body should be worked with the exercise.  He also taught some technique, although I think some more instruction on technique may be necessary for those who do not have a background in lifting/exercising.
I hate circuits. I always have, but the feeling when you are done is great.  Steve did a great job of encouraging us while we were working, which helps my mind to focus on the exercise instead of the entire circuit.  Plus, it's a lot more enjoyable to do a circuit when there are other people around you who are also working hard and want to be there.
After the course was done, Steve sat down with me to ask how the class went, any questions I had, and explained the process for future classes.  I felt that he genuinely cared how my time was there and wanted me to feel comfortable.
My only complaint is that the gym was kind of difficult to find.  I don't recall Austin F.I.T. Center being anywhere on the outside of the building, and no one was in the front room when I arrived so I was a bit unsure of where to go.  When I found the right room, it was fine.  As I said, Steve sought me out and introduced himself as soon as he saw me arrive.
This gym is in great shape and has awesome equipment.  It's clean and well maintained.  I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a total body workout.

Austin F.I.T. Center comment

Jenna,
Thank you for the great review. You paint a great picture of AFC.
I am glad your experience was a memorable one. I will work on getting the signage up for future new commers. Thanks again for your insight and comments.
See you soon
Steve


Pages: 1 2
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Austin, TX
Jul 21, 2015

Why more women weren't at this class I'll never know, but I definitely benefited from it. I got one on one time with Steve, who is clearly very knowledgeable and experienced in his craft, and more importantly, I learned skills which will not only be practical in the real world, but will definitely make a difference in a variety of scenarios.
A workout class with a purpose beyond vanity or health goals, this is a class that will empower you to take ownership of your safety and well being. Personally, I felt motivated to learn more about the techniques and will continue to develop them there. I'm new to Austin and this was my first class at Austin F.I.T, so needless to say, it left a great impression on me.
I firmly believe every woman should take a self-defense class at the very least once in their life. Information that could protect you from harm? Yes please!
Empower yourself and get over there before the word gets out :)

Business Hours *

Gym HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
9am - 6pm
9am - 6pm
9am - 6pm
9am - 6pm
9am - 6pm
Closed
Closed
* Holiday Schedules Vary - Please contact us for more info