Arc Academy LLC

Bootcamp  in Chicago , IL

2225 W. Chicago Ave.
Chicago , IL , 60622
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL
  • Bootcamp in Chicago, IL

Arc Academy LLC

Get directions 2225 W. Chicago Ave.
 
Add to favourites
Chicago , IL , 60622
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Geneva, IL
Feb 27, 2020

Our instructor Dan was awesome. He took time to explain the welding process and answer any question we had.  My daughter Diana and I will be taking the MIG 2 class sometime in April.  Cannot wait.!!!  Thank you Dan and Arc Academy.!!!!

104 Total Reviews
4.99 4.99 4.99 4.99 4.99
104 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 ... 11

5 5 5 5 5
Jun 8, 2020

Took a Mig 1& 2 combo and I love it. Simple learning process, hands on from the minute you walk in. Welding cutting grinding included in the first class. Definitely recommend it.

Chicago
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 31, 2020
Chicago

Learned so much in Mig 1& 2. Dan was very informative and explained things that required zero previous welding knowledge for you to understand. It was great to have a hands-on instructor critiquing you as you welded. I am confident enough to sign up for Open Shop and will be back.

5 5 5 5 5
Mar 29, 2020

Great time, better then imagined, look forward to more classes.

5 5 5 5 5
Mar 2, 2020

I run a large sailing school out of Chicago so I really appreciate a good instructor. I took the Mig1 & 2 class with Curtis who was informative, professional and most of all patient! I took this class with the intention of prescreening it to see if it would make sense to recommend to the rest my students, I will be highly recommending this class to anyone interested in getting hands-on with welding.

Geneva
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 27, 2020
Geneva

Our instructor Dan was awesome. He took time to explain the welding process and answer any question we had.  My daughter Diana and I will be taking the MIG 2 class sometime in April.  Cannot wait.!!!  Thank you Dan and Arc Academy.!!!!

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 20, 2020

After purchasing a MIG welder and spending some time watching YouTube videos, reading books and making sparks fly, I decided I really wanted some professional “instruction”. Having someone watch me and tell me, “faster, slower, closer” is really beneficial, and learning the “sound” a weld makes when the settings are optimal for the thickness of metal.

When my boyfriend asked me what I learned from this class, I think I spent about 15 minutes talking about everything and could still think of more.

It was great to see other people practice and learn what does and doesn’t work.

Since I was unfamiliar with the area, I used the “SpotAngels” app which told me there was a free parking lot nearby. I never found it, but it’s only $2/2 hours. Use the ParkChicago app to pay for parking, or pay at the station on the street.

Nice selection of eateries in the area too. Great, comfortable area of town.

Definitely looking forward to part 2 of the MIG class.

Michelle in Rockford, IL area

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 12, 2020

I took the MIG 1 & 2 classes today with Curtis as the instructor.  I was great and exceeded my expectations.  After a short introductory talk by Curtis, we learned through hands-on training.  We did multiple types of welding techniques on various welding joints.  Curtis was clear, informative and patient with us.  These classes provided a perfect introduction and basic experience with MIG welding.  I feel like I could start welding on my own after taking these classes.

5 5 5 5 5
Jan 5, 2020

I found ARC Academy on the web after deciding I was going to finally take class and not just learn from someone informally. I took both MIG 1 & 2 with Curtis. I thought I would mix it up and take two different instructors but Curtis was just so engaging and thorough in his instruction that it seemed foolish to look elsewhere. It was a few weeks between my two courses but Curtis's fundamentals of safety and set up held up.  Folks here are very down to earth and welcoming and serious about what they know and how they share their knowledge and expertise. I will be considering how I get back there sooner than later for more instruction and open studio time. Thank you

Highland Park
5 5 5 5 5
Dec 17, 2019
Highland Park

Rich is a great instructor! We had a class of five, with everyone coming for different reasons and different welding experiences from novice to hobbyist. Safety and equipment knowledge first, hands-on welding second.  I left feeling like I learned a lot, comfortable with being in the shop and ready to go back to practice the craft. It takes time and patience to get a good even weld. Big fan of Arc and the people who sign up for classes. All great people.

5 5 5 5 5
Nov 16, 2019

I came all the way up from TX to take the full boat of Arc Academy welding classes., and I could not possibly be more HAPPY with my experience! I would do it again in a heartbeat, & I'm planning on coming back for the Fab class when I can!!! 10/10 5-star Experience!!

TIG1 2 with Stephen was every bit as awesome as MIG1&2 w Curtis., I mean I love the staff at this place, they have done an incredible job hiring and staffing the instructors, they are all Top notch professionals!!  Stephen is the ultimate owner/GM, so I'm sure he deserves a lot of the credit for that.., it was also cool to take classes directly with the guy who created the place as he was the guy I had already seen on many of the Arc Academy & Miller Welders videos!  I won't go too far into detail, but I had a case of extreme food poisoning the night before the TIG classes, I actually was still so sick the next day I had to leave after the TIG 1 class., Stephen was so incredibly cool and gracious about the whole ordeal, that he found a way to work in time the next day for me to be able to come back & he covered everything I had missed in TIG 2., now THAT is Above & Beyond the call of duty, and for that I am extremely grateful!!  

As far as the TIG classes themselves, another total home run., very in depth information as to the process of setting up the machine front to back, adjusting gas pressure, setting up for the correct metal thickness, different gas caps, electrodes, and we learned how to run various TIG beads in various positions, fusion TIG, lay-wire, using filler material, "stacking dimes" etc, as well as some incredible pedal control exercises that I thought were awesome and really helped a person dial in personal control on the fly of their amperage.  As with Curtis, Steve was very cool in taking time to answer and address any questions/challenges anyone in class was having.  Can't possibly give Stephen a high enough review, just totally rocked it man, and really helped make my experience one for the books!  Looking forward to seeing you again hopefully sooner than later!
Thanks -Chris


Pages: 1 2 ... 11
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Geneva, IL
Feb 27, 2020

Our instructor Dan was awesome. He took time to explain the welding process and answer any question we had.  My daughter Diana and I will be taking the MIG 2 class sometime in April.  Cannot wait.!!!  Thank you Dan and Arc Academy.!!!!

Business Hours *

Bootcamp HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
9am - 9pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.