Flow Motion

Fitness Studio  in Ferndale , WA

1920 Main Street, Suite 19
Ferndale , WA , 98248
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA
  • Fitness Studio in Ferndale, WA

Flow Motion

Get directions 1920 Main Street, Suite 19
 
Add to favourites
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
Bellingham, WA
Jun 28, 2022

The teachers are so sweet and awesome, every class so far has been amazing. I definitely recommend the two week intensive all you can do so you can try out all the different classes and meet the teachers.

204 Total Reviews
204 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 ... 21

Bellingham
Jun 28, 2022
Bellingham

The teachers are so sweet and awesome, every class so far has been amazing. I definitely recommend the two week intensive all you can do so you can try out all the different classes and meet the teachers.

Flow Motion comment

Hi, Courtney! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a glowing review! We have all loved having you in our classes and look forward to seeing you again soon! I am so glad to hear that you have been enjoying every class so far. Yay!

With Gratitude,

Mika Tamaki
Flow Motion Yoga Program Coordinator and Instructor

Bellingham
Jun 28, 2022
Bellingham

I had a lovely and relaxing day. Started with a massage with Kimberly and it was fantastic. I then spent 3 hours enjoying the Himalayan salt cave, sauna, Amethyst room and massage chairs. Lovely aroma therapy lotions and oils. Enjoyed my day and will definitely be back.

Flow Motion comment

Teri,
Thank you for the review! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and have you spend the afternoon with us. I am thrilled that you had such a lovely experience here with us, and I greatly look forward to when you come back, hopefully with a friend or two in tow!
In health,
Haley Rollins

Ferndale
Jun 18, 2022
Ferndale

Eleanor Roosevelt once said "Do one thing everyday that scares you".  She would have been proud of me today!   I walked into that aerial yoga class more than a little nervous.  Even though the room was light, airy, and welcoming, to this newbie the yoga swings (?) looked rather like instruments of torture....  BUT Melissa was so very welcoming, she made it entirely possible for me to overcome my fear of "flying".  
Seriously, sorry not sorry for writing another gushing review.  This studio and instructors is just that amazing.   And guess what,  I'll be back in that aerial class again!

Ferndale
Jun 14, 2022
Ferndale

I wasn't sure what to expect as I entered the room. I was immediately enveloped in warmth and greeted cheerfully by Mika!  And the ambiance!  Talk about stepping into the whole experience;  flickering "Candle" light, gentle scents, and the aurora borealis.  The Hygge Yoga class delivered!  Who doesn't love a "warm comforting hug"

Flow Motion comment

Hi Kelly,

Thank you so much for sharing what your experience was like in the Hygge yoga class! We really did try to go for creating an instant feeling the moment you step into the room. We wanted to bring what people expect from the spa - a balancing of the nervous system- into some of our yoga classes from the moment you walk in the door. We know people have some pretty heavy things going on in their lives right now, so we wanted to help relieve some stress with that thought in mind. I'm very happy that you're "feeling the vibes" and love the class. I will be sure to pass your words on to Mika too since she was an integral part in helping to create the Hygge yoga class and I know she'll be touched that you had an amazing experience. Thank you again!

With Gratitude,
Alyssa
Owner

Lynden
Jun 11, 2022
Lynden

I have been getting Massages with Michelle and Kim for several months now. I have to say I don't know why I waited so long. These ladies are fantastic. I work in healthcare and always sore because of the amount of heavy work I do. I leave Flow Motion felling like a million dollars and a whole new person. Thank You to all the Ladies for being so wonderful and friendly.

Ferndale
Jun 10, 2022
Ferndale

I am so grateful to have found Flow Motion close to my new home!  What a treat.  This wonderful YIN class was a perfect way to come back to my mat after a long (Covid) hiatus.  
I am looking forward to sampling some of the other classes and experiences offered at Flow Motion!  
The venue is a wonderful old building, and has a lot of charm.  The only draw back (especially with my wandering mind) was the noise from the busy street and the train.

Flow Motion comment

Hi, Kelly! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely, heartfelt review! We are so glad that you found us and grateful that you have chosen to make Flow Motion your new yoga sanctuary. The Candlelight Yin class is definitely one of my favorites, too. I am excited for you to get to try the whole array of different class types and yoga styles that we offer here.

It is interesting that you mentioned the train that does sometimes pass by during class. The train is actually something that we often integrate into our yoga practice here. Not only do the external sounds that sometimes float into our conscious mind during class give us a chance to practice non-judgmental awareness of the outside world, but they also encourage us to actively guide our attention back to our breath, allowing it to anchor us once again to the present moment. One of our regular yoga students actually came up with a metaphor for the train that we liked so much that we sometimes use it in class. She shared that she looked forward to the train coming and always hoped it would come by during Savasana because she would picture the train picking up all of her worries, stress, and negative thoughts and then carrying them far, far away... :) Ever since I heard her say this, that picture has stayed in my brain and I cannot help but visualize this myself every time I hear the train go by. While we cannot always control outside distractions, just as we cannot always control the circumstances in which we find ourselves in, we do have control over how we choose to respond to them. The train serves as a reminder for us that we do have the power to choose how we interact with the situations and stimuli in our lives. It also provides us with a tool to practice our yoga on a deeper level beyond just the physical poses. If the train does happen to go by in another class that you take, I hope that this metaphorical image of the train carrying away your burdens will be uplifting and encouraging to you, as well!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and with our community, Kelly. I am really looking forward to having you in my class, too!

With Gratitude,
Mika Tamaki
Yoga Program Coordinator and Instructor

Vancouver
Jun 6, 2022
Vancouver

Everything was top knotch from beginning to end. We traveled 3 and a half hours for our spa day because of our wonderful experience a year and a half ago. The place is absolutely wonderful. The salt cave was cleansing for body mind and spirit, the infrared salt sauna was incredibly detoxing and the massage therapist was fantastic! I wish I remembered how to pronounce her name correctly. The Amethyst cave is really special as well. Great meditation and intention setting space! Thanks so much! We'll be back again!

Flow Motion comment

Lori,
thank you so much for your kind review! It was a pleasure to have you and your daughter join us for a spa day, and I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your massage with Piyada! I hope to see you both in again soon, we will be here when you are ready to recharge your batteries!
In health,
Haley Rollins

Mill Creek
May 29, 2022
Mill Creek

Been to several spa places like this in WA and CA. The atmosphere was very calming and felt personal. We were on a bachelorette party with the bride and there was minimal people from other groups so it was super fun to be spending hours in these spa rooms with my girls and not have a stranger with us. Loved that. Over all it was great. I loved the Himalayan salt room and the halo therapy. My massage was one of the best I ever had. Only complaints are the staff (although friendly; we’re kind of uptight). It would have been a more welcoming vibe if they were more laid back but over all it was totally fine. We were having a blast and laughed too loud at times and had to be reminded to keep it down so they totally could have been way worse. Nbd. But my biggest complaint is the water not being free. We were there for 5 hours and when you do massages, sound baths, saunas and move in and out of all these different atmospheres and get up and down a lot it gets to be a bit much. Your not allowed to have any water beyond a certain point and we all god dizzy and hungry. We would have left earlier if we could to eat but there was time constraints for different therapies. None of us wanted to pay $3 for a 16 oz bottle every time. So it would have been pleasant if there was an awareness of how long we have to be there and if they provided free water and maybe a sustenance just to prevent dizziness. The bride was pregnant and we had to stop and go out to the car and get snacks and water so she wouldn’t pass out. Def needs to be access to free drinking water in a spa where you’re at for 5 hours. If they can provide coffee and tea they should have a drinking fountain or some kind of water dispenser. Other than that it was a great experience but I most likely won’t be returning. But that’s just me :) make sure you bring plenty of bottles of water and put some snacks in your locker !

Flow Motion comment

Hi Emma,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy all of the things that we have here. You all were awesome and had great energy the whole time. I'd like to share a few things about why we have certain policies around the areas of disappointment that you felt. Even if you decide not to return, my hope is that you'll understand why we have certain policies and why we can't be laid back about enforcing them.

In regards to free water, we were mandated by the state of Washington to remove our water dispensing stations during the Covid pandemic to help prevent the spread of germs from person to person. Since that time, we have always instructed guests when calling to book a reservation that there are two things to bring along to enjoy their spa day. #1 is a filled water bottle. #2 is a bathing suit to use the sauna. I'm sorry that they did not share that information with you since it affected your experience so much. Since the time we had to remove our water dispensers, we have always allowed our spa guests to use the sink in the relaxation lounge to fill up their water bottles, and the majority of guests decide to do that instead of purchase water. It is the same sink that we fill up the hot tea kettle from. We stock $2 bottled spring water for purchase in case someone prefers spring water over tap water or forgets to bring their water bottle along. I know at least one other member of your group refilled her spring water bottle from the sink. We also stock snacks for purchase in our lobby as well if anyone feels hungry, so those are available anytime during your visit.

Each guest in your group received an email with the exact times that each of their services were scheduled to start and scheduled to finish. You were also sent a reminder email about each service, with start and end times, just a couple of days before your visit to remind you. I checked to make sure that your account didn't have anything unusual going on (it happens sometimes) and I can see that you received and opened each email that we sent. We schedule our team members to make sure they are available to take care of you, so our massage therapists, sound practitioners, and concierges are scheduled exact times for you so that we can make sure you receive the service that you asked to receive. I'm very open to feedback and have implemented quite a bit of it over the years to make big and small improvements. Having the specific times scheduled likely won't be changed to a more open timeframe though, so that we can make sure guests are getting what they need and when they need it.

Currently, we do set aside the front half of the spa to use for snacking and for drinking. I know that it's an absolute inconvenience to not carry food and beverage around the spa with you. I am with you on that and in fact we allowed people to carry their water bottles around with them (except inside the salt cave) when we first opened the spa about 8 months before the pandemic started. Unfortunately, we had to learn our lesson the hard way and changed that policy just six months in. Changing to our current policy to not allow food or drinks into the main part of the spa massively cut down on the damage to our facility and it helps us keep costs down for guests by not having to replace broken or damaged items. We want to keep things nice for you. I'd love to share with you why we made the policy change to only allow food and beverage in the front half of the spa and why we can't permit food and beverages in the back half of the spa, past the lockers, where all of our featured rooms are. My hope is that after reading you might understand why it needs to be that way.

You may have noticed that one of the massage chairs isn't operable. A guest shorted it out when they spilled on it. We didn't have the funds during Covid to replace the chair that cost several thousand dollars. We also had damage in our amethyst cave when someone knocked over their hot tea mug. It leaked underneath the cork floor against the wall and underneath to the infrared heaters in the floor. Even though we had signs and asked arriving guests to leave their water bottles just outside of the salt cave, we had many people who disregarded that. The thing is, salt dissolves in water. Since our floor is entirely made up of salt, the floor dissolves and then it gets down to the infrared heaters underneath the floor. When salt is dry, it's fine. But when it's wet and comes on contact with any metal, it becomes corrosive. The heaters under the floor have metal components. We truly need to have the heaters in working order under the floor, otherwise it's cold and unpleasant to walk on in the colder months. Since we are a salt spa with salt walls and salt features in every room that we have, it became too much of a problem. Perhaps the worst though was two incidences we had in the sauna. Our sauna is not a steam room. It's a dry infrared sauna. Even though we had signs inside and outside warning people not to pour water on the rocks inside, two different people at different times used their water bottles to pour water over the rocks to create steam. It caused a lot of damage to our sauna. Salt was sweating off the walls we had just finished building and salt was flaking off and got into the metal heaters. It was a big job to repair and clean up. Remember, it's also corrosive. Also, water and electricity don't mix. Putting  up additional signs after the first incident warning of electrical shock didn't fix the problem and I had to make a business decision for the safety of future guests, the longevity of our spa, and to keep things nice for everyone to be able to enjoy nice things here.

I know that not all of our guests understand why we have rules and policies and unfortunately, nearly all of them exist because someone in the past ruined it for awesome people like your group. We also have policies in place to make sure that guests are considerate of others who are here to relax. You guys arrived excited for a great day and if we ever have to ask a group to quiet down, we take it as a compliment that you're enjoying yourselves. We did have other guests tucked away inside treatment rooms, so you guys were all great in understanding that and quieting down when asked. Thank you!

We'd still love to have you back and I appreciate the opportunity given here to explain why we have certain policies in place. I will work on making improvements to our Spa Pass email reminders about remembering to bring a filled water bottle, just in case you didn't see it on the website or the person in the group making the reservation forgets to tell the rest of the group what to bring. If you have any other feedback about your day that you think might be helpful for us to implement, you can always email us anytime: info at moveinflowmotion dot com.

With Gratitude,
Alyssa Springs
Owner

Blaine
May 12, 2022
Blaine

I just started at Flow Motion and really enjoy it. The energy is clean and calm. I do wish they would offer more hot yoga classes in the morning but overall this is a great place and I will be joining monthly after
my two week pass is up. Oh yeah, I love the instructor that taught both of the classes I tried. Thanks

Flow Motion comment

Hi Shannon,

Thanks so much for your feedback, request, and sharing with everyone reading about your time here so far. I take feedback to heart and have made quite a few amazing improvements here over the years because of feedback from yoga students and spa guests. I think you'll be very happy this next week to see some of your feedback in action. And good news- we have scheduled a Hot Vinyasa class at 9:30am on Fridays. We added a non-heated yoga class to the Monday morning schedule, so our Friday class will now be hot yoga. As more yoga students join or rejoin after our mandated Covid yoga closure, we are happy to add more classes to give you a variety to pick from. Things like sharing your experience by writing a review helps others know what your experience has been like - thank you! As a new yoga member, you'll also receive two complimentary guests passes each month to bring a friend along or to share with your favorite service providers. The more yoga students join us, the more classes we can add back to our morning schedule, so I hope that brightens your day by reading all of the good things coming.

Looking forward to seeing you this week,
Alyssa Springs
Owner

Richland
May 10, 2022
Richland

The staff was wonderful. Spa clean and very friendly. Staff was quite knowledgeable and accommodating with any questions and/or needs The massage was absolutely perfect. I had Piyada in the prior month of this trip and she was splendid.

Flow Motion comment

Hi Faye,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I'm so glad that you had such an enjoyable time. Piyada is fantastic, isn't she? We hope to see you back any time at all that you feel you need a little rest and relaxation.

Until then,
Alyssa Springs
Owner


Pages: 1 2 ... 21
 

Featured review

Featured review
Bellingham, WA
Jun 28, 2022

The teachers are so sweet and awesome, every class so far has been amazing. I definitely recommend the two week intensive all you can do so you can try out all the different classes and meet the teachers.

Business Hours *

Fitness Studio HOURS*

Monday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
Open9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sunday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.