Virtual Classes Available

Design Fitness Centre

Fitness Studio  in Waterloo , ON

168 Lexington Ct Unit A,
Waterloo , ON , N2J 4R4
Fitness Studio in Waterloo, ON

Design Fitness Centre

Get directions 168 Lexington Ct Unit A,
 
Add to favourites
Waterloo , ON , N2J 4R4
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Waterloo
May 18, 2020

Why choose Design Fitness?  Why choose the various classes offered?  What's your why?

My why became very apparent this weekend.  I was out for a walk with my husband and dogs when my left foot encountered a very uneven piece of asphalt. Time seemed to slow down and I could acutely feel my left ankle going into a devastating roll.  My brain immediately thought OH NO - I sprained that ankle as a child and I'm at much greater risk of spraining it again...I don't have access to my chiropractor...I'm going to be sidelined for weeks...!!  Time stood still as I took my next hesitant step...then another...and another...  My husband saw the event transpire and called out to see if I was okay.  Indeed I was - I barely broke stride!

What had just happened?  I had found my why!

I knew immediately that Design Fitness was to thank for the fact that I wasn't sitting on the ground or hobbling home.  Every class I had taken over the years had prepared me for that very moment.  Every monster band walk, every plank, every foot exercise we did, every balance exercise, every time Terry asked us to close our eyes and let our bodies wobble, everything had led to this - an injury prevented.

On Saturday I participated in the Adults and Weights class.  There was a lot of single leg balance exercises which made the class challenging.  Walking involves being on a single leg for a period of time, so developing strength and stability on a single leg is very important.  On Sunday I participated in Terry's new Cardio Yoga offering.  It too was a challenge, but she always reminds us that we can do hard things.  The more I dislike a particular exercise - the more I know I need to do it. That class had plenty of balance challenges and a lot of foot activation as well.  The combination of these two classes are what helped my body react so quickly to the unstable surface I was on.  My feet were primed to detect the problem and my central nervous system (brain) was ready to respond accordingly.  A series of rapid events occurred which allowed me to walk away unscathed.  My body has been trained to respond to these challenges and I have Terry to thank for that.

I might not always enjoy moving my body in the way she suggests, but it's because of those very movements that I am able to move freely today...and for that I am truly grateful.

59 Total Reviews
4.92 4.92 4.92 4.92 4.92
59 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 ... 6

5 5 5 5 5
May 18, 2020

Why choose Design Fitness?  Why choose the various classes offered?  What's your "why"?

My "why" became very apparent this weekend.  I was out for a walk with my husband and dogs when my left foot encountered a very uneven piece of asphalt. Time seemed to slow down and I could acutely feel my left ankle going into a devastating roll.  My brain immediately thought "OH NO - I sprained that ankle as a child and I'm at much greater risk of spraining it again...I don't have access to my chiropractor...I'm going to be sidelined for weeks...!!"  Time stood still as I took my next hesitant step...then another...and another...  My husband saw the event transpire and called out to see if I was okay.  Indeed I was - I barely broke stride!

What had just happened?  I had found my "why"!

I knew immediately that Design Fitness was to thank for the fact that I wasn't sitting on the ground or hobbling home.  Every class I had taken over the years had prepared me for that very moment.  Every monster band walk, every plank, every foot exercise we did, every balance exercise, every time Terry asked us to close our eyes and let our bodies wobble, everything had led to this - an injury prevented.

On Saturday I participated in the Adults and Weights class.  There was a lot of single leg balance exercises which made the class challenging.  Walking involves being on a single leg for a period of time, so developing strength and stability on a single leg is very important.  On Sunday I participated in Terry's new Cardio Yoga offering.  It too was a challenge, but she always reminds us that we can do hard things.  The more I dislike a particular exercise - the more I know I need to do it. That class had plenty of balance challenges and a lot of foot activation as well.  The combination of these two classes are what helped my body react so quickly to the unstable surface I was on.  My feet were primed to detect the problem and my central nervous system (brain) was ready to respond accordingly.  A series of rapid events occurred which allowed me to walk away unscathed.  My body has been trained to respond to these challenges and I have Terry to thank for that.

I might not always enjoy moving my body in the way she suggests, but it's because of those very movements that I am able to move freely today...and for that I am truly grateful.

Waterloo
5 5 5 5 5
May 12, 2020
Waterloo

Great class. I appreciated it and certainly felt way better after. One comment: the music was a bit of a hindrance with the audio, especially when you were on the mat. Maybe it's the microphone? Thanks, B

Design Fitness Centre comment

Glad you enjoyed the class Barb.  

Thanks for putting up with the technology ups and downs getting the classes virtual.  

Stay well!

Waterloo
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 29, 2020
Waterloo

Thank you Terry for all you do for us. We are better people for it. Love the video's to get us through the workout that can be done when we are able anytime of day.
Your work so hard for all our sakes.
Noreen

5 5 5 5 5
Apr 16, 2020

Thanks for sending out these classes, Terry. I miss the group and your watchful eye to help when my form is lacking, but it is good to move with you! It is almost like a private session and very much appreciated! Thanks for keeping me moving beyond dog walking and chores!
Bev J

Design Fitness Centre comment

You're so welcome Bev, I'm glad you are participating.   It sure is different but I am thankful we have these resources to stay connected.  Stay well.

5 5 5 5 5
Apr 15, 2020

Exercising at home has been a challenge both personally and for Terry Ford to continue to provide exercise opportunities during this Covid 19 pandemic. Terry has met the challenge and provides us with Zumba, aerobics & weights and yogalates classes online for us to use when it fits our schedules while maintaining social distancing.

I have participated in all three types of classes and while they are not as much fun as sharing with others, they are still "fun" (Terry's definition of fun is challenging us!)

I feel that providing us with these exercise opportunities has enabled Design Fitness to keep us moving through this very crazy time. And I'm really thankful.

I'd encourage anyone who wants a fun, cheerful, encouraging environment to consider taking a membership to Design Fitness. I know you won't regret it.

Virtual hugs, Beverly

Design Fitness Centre comment

So glad you are enjoying the workouts Bev!  

Thank you for the great comments.  

See you online soon,
Terry

Waterloo
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 31, 2020
Waterloo

Enjoyed the online yogilates! I felt like a private session. Felt good to participate in a class again. Thanks.

3 3 3 3 3
Mar 22, 2020

I reviewed 10 on line videos for each of the exercises for correct form and things to watch for before I started. Found some good tips and ways to improvise.
I miss the mirrors at the studio so moved a portable dressing mirror into my work out area.
I discovered I couldn't do the mountain climber- properly by the time I reached it.  I think it would have to be earlier on my list! My goal this week is to do a few correctly.
I found 3 sets of 15 reps were my preferred  choice..... At least this time around

Design Fitness Centre comment

Hi Cheryl -  I'm glad you got through your first online PDF workout during this COVID-19 crisis.  

Sounds like it was a success for your first round - GREAT WORK!  

Feel free to reach out to me when you have a question about an exercise - I can help with that.  

Hopefully this doesn't last long - and we will be back in the studio sooner rather than later.  

Take care,
Terry

Waterloo
5 5 5 5 5
Mar 1, 2020
Waterloo

For a year and a half I have taken part in Terry's classes of different formats.I have gained muscle strength and flexability in the classes that never would have happened on my own. Terry is very knowledgeable in physical training, nutrition and mental well being that can get us on the right track to a better lifestyle. The different options of classes and class times Terry offers makes it easy to accomodate our own individual schedules.
The 3 readers choice awards that were won this year shows how much effort  Terry puts into her business.
Personally I have learned to take better care of myself and as a senior have become a healthier happier person thanks to all Design Fittness has offered me.

Waterloo
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 8, 2020
Waterloo

I recently retired after many, many years working in an office setting and I was looking for a fitness program that I would really enjoy and stick with.  I had recently met someone who told me about Design Fitness Centre.  My Google search found the address on Lexington Court in Waterloo and there were tons of excellent reviews.  But I was nervous. Small classes? What if I stuck out like a sore thumb?  What if I couldn’t keep up with the class?  So I waited 2 whole months before I made my move and emailed the owner/instructor, Terry Ford.  She offered me a free Zumba class and it was                      W O N D E R F U L !   Great music, fun steps and Terry was so accommodating and kind. I probably did stick out like a sore thumb but it didn’t matter because the people in the class were so friendly and encouraging!  Fast forward a few months and I attend classes throughout the week - Zumba, Weights, Yogilates and Yoga.  To make things even better, my husband has joined and now those classes we do together are my favourite of the week!   So don’t wait, email Terry and come out…….you won’t be disappointed and maybe I’ll be the one to show you around!

Kitchener
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 3, 2020
Kitchener

I enjoy all the classes that I attend but I think my favorite would be the 20/20/20 class on Monday afternoons. It is a total body workout and the step portion of the class is also a mind workout. You need to concentrate and be able to follow quick movements. There is  a smooth transition into the next 20 minutes of weight strengthening and then into the stretching portion.  Definitely a good work out and the time just flies by.


Pages: 1 2 ... 6
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Waterloo
May 18, 2020

Why choose Design Fitness?  Why choose the various classes offered?  What's your why?

My why became very apparent this weekend.  I was out for a walk with my husband and dogs when my left foot encountered a very uneven piece of asphalt. Time seemed to slow down and I could acutely feel my left ankle going into a devastating roll.  My brain immediately thought OH NO - I sprained that ankle as a child and I'm at much greater risk of spraining it again...I don't have access to my chiropractor...I'm going to be sidelined for weeks...!!  Time stood still as I took my next hesitant step...then another...and another...  My husband saw the event transpire and called out to see if I was okay.  Indeed I was - I barely broke stride!

What had just happened?  I had found my why!

I knew immediately that Design Fitness was to thank for the fact that I wasn't sitting on the ground or hobbling home.  Every class I had taken over the years had prepared me for that very moment.  Every monster band walk, every plank, every foot exercise we did, every balance exercise, every time Terry asked us to close our eyes and let our bodies wobble, everything had led to this - an injury prevented.

On Saturday I participated in the Adults and Weights class.  There was a lot of single leg balance exercises which made the class challenging.  Walking involves being on a single leg for a period of time, so developing strength and stability on a single leg is very important.  On Sunday I participated in Terry's new Cardio Yoga offering.  It too was a challenge, but she always reminds us that we can do hard things.  The more I dislike a particular exercise - the more I know I need to do it. That class had plenty of balance challenges and a lot of foot activation as well.  The combination of these two classes are what helped my body react so quickly to the unstable surface I was on.  My feet were primed to detect the problem and my central nervous system (brain) was ready to respond accordingly.  A series of rapid events occurred which allowed me to walk away unscathed.  My body has been trained to respond to these challenges and I have Terry to thank for that.

I might not always enjoy moving my body in the way she suggests, but it's because of those very movements that I am able to move freely today...and for that I am truly grateful.