Live Oak Strength

Personal Training Studio  in Emeryville , CA

5515 Doyle Street, Unit 5
Emeryville , CA , 94608
  • Personal Training Studio in Emeryville, CA
  • Personal Training Studio in Emeryville, CA
  • Personal Training Studio in Emeryville, CA
  • Personal Training Studio in Emeryville, CA
  • Personal Training Studio in Emeryville, CA

Live Oak Strength

Get directions 5515 Doyle Street, Unit 5
 
Add to favourites
Emeryville , CA , 94608
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Oakland, CA
Apr 2, 2020

I was skeptical that a virtual workout could be effective as in person, but was pleasantly surprised at how thorough and intense the entire workout was.  The coaching was detailed, the exercises were clearly explained, and I was pushed beyond what I could do on my own or with the aid of a prerecorded workout...
I highly recommend trying a virtual workout... you'll feel great afterwards!  
Craig

10 Total Reviews
5 5 5 5 5
10 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest

Oakland, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
May 5, 2021
Oakland, CA USA

I've been training here for several years now and it's made a huge difference in my physical and mental health.  The Live Oak program is so much better than what you'll find at a typical gym, yoga studio, etc. The time and effort I've put in here has enabled me to be more active and less stressed in others areas of my life. I really appreciate everything the trainers here have done for me.

Berkeley, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jun 16, 2020
Berkeley, CA USA

During my 72 years I have jogged, done yoga, lifted weights, and engaged personal trainers for both exercise and weight lifting programs, but it wasn't until my alternative health care practitioner suggested I try Live Oak training after a serious bout of cancer that I decided to investigate Live Oak slow weight resistance program. I am hooked! Lucy and Owen are superb trainers; they explain and watch your every movement, from the placement of your toes to the alignment of your neck, so that you do the exercises precisely both to avoid injury and to get the maximum benefit of each movement. The results of their instruction in this 20-25 minutes of resistance training are ASTOUNDING. Indeed, you cannot obtain these health and strength benefits in any typical gym.  I leave every session walking taller, moving with greater flexibility, balance, and strength,  and experiencing the sense of elation that comes with vigorous and bold exercise.  There are simply no words really to express my gratitude for the health practitioner, who strongly suggested I go to Live Oak, and to Lucy and Owen for their attentiveness to every person who works with them.  In short, they are extraordinary practitioners, teachers,  and individuals!

Live Oak Strength comment

Raquel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience working out with us at Live Oak and for more importantly, embracing the strength-training lifestyle! We are so honored to be working with you - it's truly a privilege and we are so happy to have you as part of our community.
Keep up the great work! You're getting stronger!!

Oakland, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jun 13, 2020
Oakland, CA USA

Who knew that two cans of refried beans and a beach towel would be useful in a virtual strength training session? Well they are. And Owen and I have resumed an at-home routine while we are sheltering-in-place. During these unprecedented times, this option has been a great choice to maintain the strength I have achieved while in their studio. As always, Owen is attentive, encouraging and professional. I am one among the others who are fortunate to have found and benefitted from the offerings that Owen and Lucy provide at Live Oak.

Live Oak Strength comment

Jeanee,

It's been over a decade since we first met! What an honor to know you and work with you over the years and see your incredible progress. We still get goose bumps remembering your results during your first few months of strength training. You're a huge part of our lives, and we are incredibly honored to get to work with such a beautiful person, inside and out. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. It means everything to us. Keep up the great work!

Oakland, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jun 3, 2020
Oakland, CA USA

Owen, Lucy, and Robert run a well-focused training program aimed at bringing the best out in you and addressing your weaknesses.  The coaching is detailed and you are pushed to really improve.  It is impressive what you can achieve in one session per week.

Live Oak Strength comment

Randy,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We feel incredibly fortunate to get to work with you. We can't believe it's been over 10 years since we first met. We're grateful you reached out and now strength train with us. You're an inspiration to all of us at Live Oak, and we are so proud of your commitment to living an active and healthy life-style. Thank you!

Oakland, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jun 3, 2020
Oakland, CA USA

I’ve gone to several different gyms in the past but when I started to work with Owen at Live Oak Strength two+ years ago, I felt I had found my 'fitness home'.  Training is by
appointment only at their great space in Emeryville.  It's tough!  And I wouldn't call it
'fun'!   However,  I know I'm stronger and healthier and that's the point.  And only
20-25 min. a week.  As a senior, I appreciate the modifications made to accommodate
my issues.  And to top it off, Owen is a great guy!  Live Oak Strength is a class act.
Thank you Owen and Lucy!

Emeryville, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jun 2, 2020
Emeryville, CA USA

I’ve been working out since I was 15. I’ve worked out with weights, machines, Pilates, Gyrotonics....you name it.
Nothing, NOTHING has given me the results that Lucy and Live Oak Strength has.  
Try it. I guarantee you will be as thrilled with the results as I am.

Live Oak Strength comment

Thanks Sherry for sharing your experience working with us and mostly Lucy! It is truly and honor and a privilege to work with you. You're amazing!

Oakland
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 12, 2020
Oakland

I knew the Shelter-in Place mandate was the right thing to do, but I was worried I’d lose all the strength I’d gained during the time I’d been working with Owen and Robert at Live Oak Strength.  I have several health issues that make it imperative for me to stay strong, and while I’ve been active while staying at home, I knew I needed the Live Oak high-intensity workout to continue to stay strong and healthy.  I was so happy to learn that Live Oak Strength is open for business online during Shelter-in-Place.  I had my first virtual workout this week, meeting with Owen in my living room through the magic of the internet and Zoom.  Honestly, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but I was pleased to find out that by using things I already had around the house (yoga block, beach towel, 5 lb. weights), Owen was able to direct me through a challenging workout.  Just like during my workout at Live Oak Strength, Owen monitored my form, corrected my posture, and pushed me to work harder than I would on my own.  Try a virtual workout with with Owen or Lucy; you won’t be disappointed.

Berkeley, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 10, 2020
Berkeley, CA USA

Yesterday, I had my first Virtual Strength Training session with Owen.  It was a great workout.  Today, I am so happy to feel some sore muscles again.  I had been training with both Owen and Lucy in Emeryville since August and was afraid that all that hard work was dwindling away since I have been "Staying at Home."   The Virtual Strength Workout truly kicked my butt and I will be doing it every week until we get back to the studio.
Betty

Oakland, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 10, 2020
Oakland, CA USA

I'll follow you guys to the ends of the earth! I've hated working out my entire life. Live Oak gave me a path to understanding how even someone like me could build strength and have more energy for all the things I love to do in life outside of the gym.  If I had to choose between all of my discretionary expenses and super slow training with Lucy, Robert, and Owen... I'd for sure sacrifice just about everything else first (including cheese!) before giving up my workouts.

Oakland, CA USA
5 5 5 5 5
Apr 2, 2020
Oakland, CA USA

I was skeptical that a virtual workout could be effective as in person, but was pleasantly surprised at how thorough and intense the entire workout was.  The coaching was detailed, the exercises were clearly explained, and I was pushed beyond what I could do on my own or with the aid of a prerecorded workout...
I highly recommend trying a virtual workout... you'll feel great afterwards!  
Craig


 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Oakland, CA
Apr 2, 2020

I was skeptical that a virtual workout could be effective as in person, but was pleasantly surprised at how thorough and intense the entire workout was.  The coaching was detailed, the exercises were clearly explained, and I was pushed beyond what I could do on my own or with the aid of a prerecorded workout...
I highly recommend trying a virtual workout... you'll feel great afterwards!  
Craig

Business Hours *

Personal Training Studio HOURS*

Monday
7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Friday
Open7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 2:00 pm
Sunday
Closed
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.