Pilates Body Shaping

Pilates Studio  in Charlotte , NC

1940 E. 8th St
Charlotte , NC , 28204
  • Pilates Studio in Charlotte, NC
  • Pilates Studio in Charlotte, NC
  • Pilates Studio in Charlotte, NC
  • Pilates Studio in Charlotte, NC

Pilates Body Shaping

Get directions 1940 E. 8th St
 
Add to favourites
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
Astoria, NY
Sep 8, 2022

This is the best Pilates I have found in Charlotte.  As a former professional dancer, I tend to be highly critical of instructors but this experience exceeded any of my expectations.  Laney could spot every compensation or substitution my body tried to pull and cued and reduced resistance and repeated until I got it right.  The session wasn’t a workout class but an exercise in movement efficiency and postural alignment.  I left feeling taller and more balanced in my body. I highly recommend this studio.

25 Total Reviews
25 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 3

Astoria, NY USA
Sep 8, 2022
Astoria, NY USA

This is the best Pilates I have found in Charlotte.  As a former professional dancer, I tend to be highly critical of instructors but this experience exceeded any of my expectations.  Laney could spot every compensation or substitution my body tried to pull and cued and reduced resistance and repeated until I got it right.  The session wasn’t a workout class but an exercise in movement efficiency and postural alignment.  I left feeling taller and more balanced in my body. I highly recommend this studio.

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Thank you so much for your kind words!  It was a pleasure working with you and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Laney

New York
Mar 25, 2022
New York

Today I was thrilled and thankful to study with the extraordinary Pilates pro, Laney Abernethy, at Pilates Body Shaping (PBS). The entire team at PBS preserves Joe Pilates' original system of body conditioning at the highest levels. This is strong traditional Pilates for every woman, man, young adult and child. Laney provided an excellent combination of seriously challenging exercises, educational guidance, good humor, positive approach and collaborative spirit!! Here is my recommendation: Enjoy an excellent workout at PBS and live life with enhanced strength, flexibility, coordination and mental focus. Living the movement makes the difference!!

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Thank you so much for your kind words Peter!  It was a pleasure to reconnect with you and hope to see you again when you travel back to Charlotte!

Cary
Mar 12, 2022
Cary

Lovely true pilates studio! Loved attending the CPE today! Looking forward for next time!

Pilates Body Shaping comment

So great to meet you and have you with us today!  We look forward to seeing you soon!

Charlotte
Mar 11, 2022
Charlotte

First visit was way better than I expected. Cassandra clearly knew what she was doing and was most helpful.  The signup was easy and after this first session today, I’m all set for five more. Pilates Body Shaping is another gem in the Elizabeth neighborhood!

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Thank you so much for your kind words and we’re so glad that you enjoyed your lesson!  We hope this is just the beginning of your Pilates journey with us!

Charlotte
Sep 25, 2021
Charlotte

Relocated from Newport Beach  CA and FINALLY found a Reformer Pilates studio extremely talented and professional but actually wants clients and willing to give us excellent service , from the first call to, first class, booked 10 classes .. done!  In a world were customer service is dying, NOT hear.
I also called and tried to go to 4 other studio, never returned calls, no sense of urgency and didn't seem to value clients.   Cassandra is great!

Susan Bommarito

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Thanks so much for your kind words Susan!  Welcome to Charlotte and the PBS family!

Jun 8, 2021

Wow, this was my first time ever trying Pilates and it will not be my last. I started on the recommendation of my physical therapist after chronic low back pain and an injury.

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Thanks so much for your kind words and for coming in!  We look forward to your return!

Apr 16, 2021

They did not shame me for cursing a bit louder than I intended today.  For that, I am thankful.
Pilates feels unique among exercises in that the longer you do it, the harder it seems to get.  You can become adept at the exercises, but there is always an additional layer that challenges your core in an unexpected way.  Today's challenge prompted an eff bomb.  As always though, at the end of class I am happy to have ridden the struggle bus to the studio.  Thanks, Cara!

Pilates Body Shaping comment

LOL!!!  What an awesome review.  You are so appreciated and know that we're sure that today will not be the last time that bomb has been dropped in the studio!  Challenges are fun, but wonderful students (like you) are FANTASTIC.

Apr 9, 2021

This place rocks.  What started out as a lark --- I "won" 5 session in a charity auction-- has become a fundamental part of my self care routine.  Throughout COVID, as and when they have been permitted to open, this place has taken all precautions necessary to keep staff and customers safe.  I meet up with the incomparable Kara on Friday mornings, and while I bitch and moan about it on the way there and most of the way through our time together, when I emerge 50 minutes later, I am somehow taller, stronger and always glad to have put in the time.  Rates seem reasonable (what do I know?), but more than that, there is just a tremendous, supportive and healthy vibe going on there.  I started 20 lbs heavier than I am now, but at no point did I feel shame in my shape as I worked out beside and around a toned and firm staff.  All bodies are welcome and all bodies can get something out of the experience.

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Kimberly, thank you so much for your time in writing this kind review. We strongly feel that our awesome students (such as yourself) help in creating a comfortable environment where everyone can feel supported, strong, and healthy!  You rock and we couldn’t keep doing this without you!
Laney

Charlotte
Apr 7, 2021
Charlotte

I was hesitant at first when I started at Pilates Body Shaping, but I very quickly got over it. Light and airy environment, highly trained and knowledgeable people on staff, with an understanding of each client's strengths and weaknesses. I am now a believer!

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Thank you so much for your kind words and trust Ward!  We’re so happy you started coming into the studio!

Charlotte, NC USA
Feb 3, 2021
Charlotte, NC USA

If you are concerned about health and safety in the pilates studio, put your concerns to rest! Pilates Body Shaping is taking every precaution to protect the health of its clients and instructors. Physical distance, sanitation, masking are all in place and compliance is 100%. Pilates Body Shaping is more than a studio - it's a community where we care for each other. I am so thankful to be able to have my sessions in person with Cara.

Pilates Body Shaping comment

Thank you so much for your kind words Cynthia!  We feel so fortunate for our wonderful students like you who have been so supportive-especially during these challenging times!


Pages: 1 2 3
 

Featured review

Featured review
Astoria, NY
Sep 8, 2022

This is the best Pilates I have found in Charlotte.  As a former professional dancer, I tend to be highly critical of instructors but this experience exceeded any of my expectations.  Laney could spot every compensation or substitution my body tried to pull and cued and reduced resistance and repeated until I got it right.  The session wasn’t a workout class but an exercise in movement efficiency and postural alignment.  I left feeling taller and more balanced in my body. I highly recommend this studio.

Business Hours *

Pilates Studio HOURS*

Monday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 11:00 am
Sunday
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.