The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio

Pilates Studio  in Ithaca , NY

1201 N. Tioga St.
Ithaca , NY , 14850
  • Pilates Studio in Ithaca, NY
  • Pilates Studio in Ithaca, NY

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio

Get directions 1201 N. Tioga St.
 
Add to favourites
Ithaca , NY , 14850
 
Add to favourites
 
 
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Newfield, NY
Sep 11, 2020

I just had a personal visit with ChimĂȘne and it was eye opening.  I didn't realize how much my neurological imbalances status post stroke went right down to my core.  Like a good physical therapist, she focuses on stability before mobility and therefore we are starting at the core and working our way out.  Thank you to the Pilates studio for providing this service of neurokinetic therapy to our community.  I hope to learn a lot more in my future visits.

47 Total Reviews
4.94 4.94 4.94 4.94 4.94
47 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 ... 4 5

Ithaca, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 17, 2016
Ithaca, NY USA

I first came to the Pilates Room to do private sessions with Chimene to assess and deal with a hip injury and arthritis.  She was and is amazing! I have been to several physical therapists over the years and Chimene is by far the most observant and astute--she definitely sees things that other people miss. She is also skilled at prescribing exercises that target specific areas to be strengthened. Except for an occasional tune-up, I've "graduated" from individual sessions and now attend Chimene's scoliosis class, and basic reformer with Sarah. Both give corrective feedback in a focused, insightful, respectful and caring way. Attending classes is enabling me to delay a hip replacement by lessening pain and protecting my other hip and spine from compensatory damage in the interim. I've learned to pay attention to my body in a different way.  The atmosphere is warm and non-competitive. I can't say enough good things!

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio comment

Joyce, thank you for the wonderful review.  We couldn't do what we do without you!!

Manhattan, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 13, 2016
Manhattan, NY USA

I've never been a gym rat. Growing up, I took ballet and other dance classes, played sports and didn't really have to think about staying active until my 30s when I stopped dancing as much, and my metabolism started to slow down. I knew I was going to need a routine that felt FUN, and not like a giant pill I needed to swallow because it was good for me. The classes at The Pilates Room are just that. Because the instructors are charismatic and knowledgable, your time "working out" flies by. You see the same faces every time you go, and it feels like a family of supportive people, working together to accomplish well being goals of all kinds. Plus, they're always adding interesting workouts to the schedule, so you know they're staying on top of what's trendy in the fitness world.

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio comment

Thank you, Darcy. It is so nice to see you back here after baby. We missed you!

Ithaca, NY USA
3 3 3 3 3
Oct 12, 2016
Ithaca, NY USA

At least 6 years ago I dropped in to the Pilates Room...I was afraid it was only abs, only situps, and I was very skeptical.  After 6 years I am so glad that I have kept learning Pilates.  That's the best thing - you keep learning because Pilates is a lifetime exercise.  And as you age you need to keep up with changes to your musculoskeletal system.  I'm so grateful that I can still do Pilates, golf and play tennis.

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio comment

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love having you with us and sincerely value your opinion. Please let us know how we can improve.

5 5 5 5 5
Oct 11, 2016

I joined the Pilates Room over 2 years ago after finding myself BORED of the class offerings at my previous gym and in desperate need of a change.  I was immediately hooked!  I mostly take BarreX, Urban Rebounding, TRX, and occasionally Pilates and Yoga (mostly on account of personal scheduling conflicts, I would love to take them more!).  I LOVE all these classes for a number of reasons:

1. the instructors are amazing and charismatic
2. the 45 minutes flies by
3. I NEVER get bored/find myself staring at the clock (as i did in previous settings)
4. I get an incredible, and FUN!, work out, and
5. I find the members at the Pilates Room to be a group of welcoming and caring individuals of all ages, body types, and fitness levels which i really appreciate.  Like Jing mentioned, it's like being part of a fun family!

I canceled that other membership and never looked back!!  I have since found a new interest in fitness and feel stronger, and more energized than i have in 36 years!

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio comment

Wow, Emily! We love you too. We are so lucky to have you. We are proud of our member family and boast to any new prospect that they will be hard pressed to find a similar group of sincere individuals. <3

NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 6, 2016
NY USA

I'm so glad I run into this place in Ithaca. It offers a range of practices. Whatever your preference is, you will find one or more matching classes. The registration and membership experience so far has been quite transparent and flexible--no hidden fees. The instructors and managers are quite friendly. They don't push you into any classes. You feel like part of a fun family. I highly recommend.

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio comment

Thank you, Jing. We're glad you ran into this place too :-) It's nice having you in our Pilates Room family. <3

NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Oct 4, 2016
NY USA

I attended three classes at the Pilates Room the week - basic reformer, reformer and studio circuit.  

Jen teaching basic reformer has a great way of conveying an upbeat confidence in her students' ability to get the movements, making the session really motivating and satisfying.

I have to wonder, with a Reformer class of five people, how can Chemine see what everyone needs - but it's clear from her comments that she is seeing all of us and giving us the cues and modifications that we need to increase our strength and activate the correct muscles for each move.    

Sarah's studio circuit class gives the opportunity to try new moves for full body integration on not just the reformer, but all of the equipment, giving students a class to discover new ways to experience Pilates and challenge their bodies.  Sarah watches carefully, listens, provides great feedback and cues to make the movements more effective.

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio comment

Thank you for your very thoughtful review, Nancy. I am very proud of our staff and their ability to zero-in and fine tune for each individual, even in a group class setting. In addition to their extensive experience and never-ending continuing education, they just really genuinely care about every one of the people they work with. That's what REALLY makes them special.

NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Sep 28, 2016
NY USA

This year I've done private, duet, studio circuit, and small group reformer classes at the Pilates room with four different teachers and they are all wonderful!  Classes are small and the instructors are personable and knowledgeable.  I definitely get the impression that my health is their highest priority when I am working with them.

I've enjoyed the work so much that when I went out of town on vacation last week, I decided to treat myself with three private sessions with a PMA certified, classically trained Pilates instructor.  She had many years of experience, and I was pleased that she was encouraging me to really push myself - "She must see that I'm really strong and accomplished"' I told myself. Her cuing was good and I felt good, and very challenged.  We went right through a classical workout.  But after the third session, I had a low back ache from trying too hard!  :-(  Looking back, I realize that she didn't address the physical concerns I brought up to her.  

When I came back to The Pilates Room this week, I attended a reformer session with Jen and then the next day a group reformer class with Chimene.  What a difference in approach!  They really wanted to know how I was feeling - what were my strengths, what was feeling less strong that day.  They didn't just push through the routine, but really noticed the places I needed to work on to make sure the movements were actually helping me to build strength and control.  I appreciated that the physical concerns I brought up were taken seriously and addressed during the session.  I felt so good after the session - no back pain! :-)

If you want to jump to advanced moves and plow through a series of movements regardless of your current mastery of technique, then this might not be the right place for you, but if you want careful cuing, thoughtful insights into how to improve your technique, and a friendly atmosphere, this is the place to go!

The PILATES Room & ANTIGRAVITY Studio comment

Thank you so much, Nancy. We are sincerely happy to be able to make a difference in your life. We love having you with us!


Pages: 1 ... 4 5
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Newfield, NY
Sep 11, 2020

I just had a personal visit with ChimĂȘne and it was eye opening.  I didn't realize how much my neurological imbalances status post stroke went right down to my core.  Like a good physical therapist, she focuses on stability before mobility and therefore we are starting at the core and working our way out.  Thank you to the Pilates studio for providing this service of neurokinetic therapy to our community.  I hope to learn a lot more in my future visits.

Business Hours *

Pilates Studio HOURS*

Monday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 7:30 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 7:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 7:30 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 7:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sunday
Closed
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.