Prima Materia Institute

Education Center  in San Diego , CA

7660-H Fay Ave, La Jolla
San Diego , CA , 92037-4843
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA
  • Education Center in San Diego, CA

Prima Materia Institute

Get directions 7660-H Fay Ave, La Jolla
 
Add to favourites
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
San Diego
Apr 18, 2020

I could not draw before I spent a few hours with Olya for the introduction to drawing. It turns out I was just never taught some basic skills on how to see and to replicate what you are seeing. Then I took Nikusha's 12 week drawing course. In three months people think I've been drawing forever. They say, I can't draw like you can. Before I could only draw stick people. They are the real deal. They teach from classical principles, the foundations so you can expand wherever you want to go. They are genuine and give you important feedback to improve how you see and how to apply it. I can't wait to do more and have found my first passion.

23 Total Reviews
23 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 3

La Jolla
Jun 5, 2022
La Jolla

I took the beginner drawing class to try my hand at drawing. Nikusha, the instructor, was engaging, knows her stuff, and teaches well. Easy  to understand, ok to ask questions, and genuinely positive about the student's efforts. There was great information and tips in only an hour, and I was amazed at my results. You could tell what I drew! I enjoyed the class immensely.

J San Diego
Feb 14, 2022
J San Diego

learned alot- good instruction

San Diego
Sep 14, 2021
San Diego

What an absolute pleasure, I am so thankful to have been a part of Miss Nikushas class! I learned so much from her humble teaching and I hope to continue to journey with Prima soon. :) much love and respect Prima Staff and Students have a good day!

May 3, 2021

I attended the Intro to Drawing and Painting sessions on May 1st.  Nikusha was an amazing instructor who gave so much encouragement, direction and information.  It was thoroughly enjoyable. It made me think there may be an artisitc ability within me - one  who struggles with drawing a stickman. Thank you.

Mar 8, 2021

The 1 hour Drawing class was great.  Fast paced.  I am rather slow but it felt good to
cover so much.  I love the teacher and her energy.  I plan to take the 12 week course.

Prima Materia Institute comment

Thank you, Victoria! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed "Drawing Made Easy". I look forward to seeing you in "Essential Drawing Course for Beginners"! Until then, keep creating! -Nikusha

San Diego
Sep 8, 2020
San Diego

This class was awesome, I had so much fun. This was the first time really sitting down and trying to paint and I Loved it. I want to learn more now.  I has pushed me to want to learn more about it and really get to know this medium. Thank you Ola for a get class

Prima Materia Institute comment

Thank you, Joel! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the class! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Until then, keep creating!

San Diego
Sep 6, 2020
San Diego

The instruction was very valuable!  I am a porcelain artist,  but eager to learn as much as I can.and shading is vital in any painting.  We moved a little quickly, and so much was covered.  I feel I can retain it all.

Prima Materia Institute comment

Hi Nancy, Glad you joined us and that you found the content valuable.  I really appreciate your comment that there is a lot of information covered in a short amount of time. Way more than anyone can reasonably expect to consume, yet everything covered is necessary in order to create a drawing with artistic qualities, a drawing that works. It does take time and practice which is why we created the Essential Drawing Course for Beginners. Wouldn't it feel great to pick up a pencil or a pen and be truly comfortable drawing anything you choose. Sound attractive, then check out the Essential Drawing Course on Tuesday evenings, and experience drawing made easy.

San Diego
Sep 6, 2020
San Diego

Thoroughly enjoyed this drawing class. I learned so much in an hour. The teacher was awesome. I will be signing up for the full drawing class. Totally recommend! Thank you PrimaMateria.

Prima Materia Institute comment

Hi Pat, So glad to hear you enjoyed the class. Can't wait to see what you create.

Apr 18, 2020

I could not draw before I spent a few hours with Olya for the introduction to drawing. It turns out I was just never taught some basic skills on how to see and to replicate what you are seeing. Then I took Nikusha's 12 week drawing course. In three months people think I've been drawing forever. They say, "I can't draw like you can." Before I could only draw "stick people." They are the real deal. They teach from classical principles, the foundations so you can expand wherever you want to go. They are genuine and give you important feedback to improve how you see and how to apply it. I can't wait to do more and have found my first passion.

Prima Materia Institute comment

Thank you for this kind review, Audrey. It's been great to see how you've advanced as an artist and we look forward to seeing you develop even more! Keep it up. See you soon!

San Diego, CA USA
Mar 16, 2020
San Diego, CA USA

Olya was my first art teacher and I’d follow her anywhere. NIkusha is following in her footsteps and I’m following her as well. I can go on and on but the only way to find out is to try it out. Ask for a class as a gift if it’s your birthday or Christmas...Just do it

Prima Materia Institute comment

Thank you, Kathy! We are so happy to have you in class! See you soon.


Pages: 1 2 3
 

Featured review

Featured review
San Diego
Apr 18, 2020

I could not draw before I spent a few hours with Olya for the introduction to drawing. It turns out I was just never taught some basic skills on how to see and to replicate what you are seeing. Then I took Nikusha's 12 week drawing course. In three months people think I've been drawing forever. They say, I can't draw like you can. Before I could only draw stick people. They are the real deal. They teach from classical principles, the foundations so you can expand wherever you want to go. They are genuine and give you important feedback to improve how you see and how to apply it. I can't wait to do more and have found my first passion.

Business Hours *

Education Center HOURS*

Monday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
Open9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.