Body & Brain - Brookline

Yoga Studio  in Brookline , MA

235 Harvard St
Brookline , MA , 02446
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
  • Yoga Studio in Brookline, MA
Approved

Body & Brain - Brookline

Get directions 235 Harvard St
 
Add to favourites
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
Brookline, MA
Aug 23, 2017

I'm a yoga novice, so I was a bit intimidated taking the meridian stretching class but there no reason to be. I had my very first yoga class at Body & Brain with Courtney and it was just wonderful. She was incredibly helpful in teaching the correct way to do poses and helped each student 1-on-1. Courtney was really encouraging and definitely made me want to come back for more classes. The class, which was focused on releasing tension, was just what I needed too. I found the hand and foot shaking loads of fun and a great way to release all the tension I'd been feeling in my body. I'm looking forward to going back for more classes!

30 Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 3

Bedford
Mar 27, 2014
Bedford

The instructor and stuff are very friendly, and the environment and the music  make me so relaxed. Dahn yoga blended the oriental meditation concept and massaging, yoga stretching together, and teach you how to practice your mind, and learn how to improve the positive energy inside.

Boston
Mar 24, 2014
Boston

I really enjoyed the energy in this facility. I've taken different kinds of yoga but this kind by far surpasses my expectation with reaching deep relaxation. The part when we rub our hands together to create energy is my favorite part. It's a force that I've never experienced and actually love that feeling. The level of yoga isn't that difficult but still give you a nice workout while focusing on being in tune with how your body feels. Not to mention everyone was very friendly :-)

Brookline
Mar 12, 2014
Brookline

Everyone is really friendly and helpful. This was my first time there, and my instructor checked in with me both before and after class, even offering to speak to me for a longer period of time.

It's not as hard as most yoga I've done, but it's a great class to go to after a long day. I definitely feel a lot more awake after, but would not necessarily go here to actually get fit. There were a lot of older people in the class, and I think that's the target audience of this kind of yoga. The core part was the only truly tiring part, but that only lasted for about 15 minutes.

Overall, I would say that I had a good experience. The music and setting are really calming. I would suggest this class not as a main workout, but for cool-down days in between or just days in which you want to get some exercise but do not have enough energy to do intensive workout.

Brookline
Feb 23, 2014
Brookline

This was my first experience with Dahn Yoga. I try to explain what I felt during the session:
1- It is less tense than regular yoga and certainly much less tense than heated yoga. I would say it is more on the meditation side of yoga than stretch and strength.
2- The body tapping was at the beginning a bit strange to me but when I asked the instructor, she explained to me that one third of our blood in concentrated in our stomach and by tapping that area we are forcing a better circulation of the  blood around our body and that to me is very good point.
3- The studio was very clean. I specially liked the fact that they provided mats and one can just walk there for a session without bringing extra stuff.
4- At the end of session we had herbal tea, sat down with other students and talked, which was very nice.
5- One of the exercises  which I found interesting was creating a vibration between hands. This to me is a very good meditation practice and could help with daily activities, and even sleep.

Overall it was a pleasant experience and a stress releasing session.

North Andover, MA USA
Feb 2, 2014
North Andover, MA USA

This was very different than some other yoga classes I had been to but that was a good thing! It gave me an hour to just relax and focus on stretching and breathing. Everyone was very welcoming and the studio is very clean. I enjoyed the patient tone of the instructor and just having time to focus on myself!

Boston
Nov 13, 2013
Boston

I had a very nice experience at Dahn Yoga.  It's a cool little operation, and everyone there - instructor and students - were very kind and friendly.

The Dahn system is very much a 'brand,' in the way there are 'types' of Yoga, like Bikram, etc.  Not to say it is _like_ Bikram - it isn't heated, and it didn't make me feel like I was going to die.

The Dahn system seems to me like a cool mix of different styles - it has yogic stretching, breath work, physical stimulation (gently slapping or patting one's body to activate energy, etc.), and Chi elements as well.  There is core work in the middle of the routine which is very difficult, and there is a nice build-up and cool-down around it.

I personally wasn't a fan of the music they play during the class, but I think I'm in the minority on that one - I prefer silence, but most people seem to have music with all forms these days!

I recommend checking them out!

Sharon
Sep 16, 2013
Sharon

I felt great walking out of this class. I have never done yoga that concentrated on energy in the body so much. Really enjoyable ambiance and really pleasant staff too!

MA USA
Sep 1, 2013
MA USA

Great Instruction. I felt very welcome at the studio as it was my first time attending. I was also a beginner and did not feel any disadvantage because of this. The instructor was kind and thoughtful. I will be going back!

Medford
Aug 20, 2013
Medford

good class

Medford
Aug 20, 2013
Medford

good class.


Pages: 1 2 3
 

MORE LOCATIONS
Body & Brain - Cambridge
1773 B Massachusetts Avenue (downstairs), Cambridge, MA, 02140, USA
Body & Brain - Arlington
325 Broadway, Arlington, MA, 02474, USA

Featured review

Featured review
Brookline, MA
Aug 23, 2017

I'm a yoga novice, so I was a bit intimidated taking the meridian stretching class but there no reason to be. I had my very first yoga class at Body & Brain with Courtney and it was just wonderful. She was incredibly helpful in teaching the correct way to do poses and helped each student 1-on-1. Courtney was really encouraging and definitely made me want to come back for more classes. The class, which was focused on releasing tension, was just what I needed too. I found the hand and foot shaking loads of fun and a great way to release all the tension I'd been feeling in my body. I'm looking forward to going back for more classes!

Business Hours *

Yoga Studio HOURS*

Monday
8:00 am - 8:30 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 8:30 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 8:30 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sunday
10:30 am - 2:30 pm
* Daily and holiday schedules may vary. Please contact us for more information.