Virtual Classes Available

Arise Yoga Brooklyn

Yoga Studio  in Brooklyn , NY

730 Franklin Avenue
Brooklyn , NY , 11238

Arise Yoga Brooklyn

Get directions 730 Franklin Avenue
 
Add to favourites
Brooklyn , NY , 11238
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Aug 1, 2021

Fantastic class by a fantastic teacher. Quamay made it easy to laugh through the sturggles of my tight muscles and difficult poses. I will def join another of his classes soon. Thank oyu for a great practice.

44 Total Reviews
4.75 4.75 4.75 4.75 4.75
44 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest
Pages: 1 2 ... 5

Brooklyn
4 4 4 4 4
Aug 5, 2021
Brooklyn

I'm happy to have a yoga studio in the neighborhood close to home. I have been going for a few weeks now and have enjoyed the classes. The instructors are experienced and friendly. Some things that need improvement is cleanliness. The floor of the studio is always dirty and I have seen spider webs and bugs in the corners near the door/window or the courtyard. I have also seen rats running around in the courtyard during class. It would be nice to practice out in the courtyard while the weather is warm.

Arise Yoga Brooklyn comment

Hello Sameea,

We are thankful for your presence and practice with us here! We absolutely love our staff and teachers here as well.  I appreciate you sharing your concerns about the cleanliness of the studio. I assure you our front desk does an amazing job of cleaning studio floors and props for us everyday. As for New York City little critters we have made sure to thoroughly power wash patio before classes and also made necessary steps of removal and prevention to the best of ability to keep them away in the future ! Look forward to practicing with you again soon.  Thank you for being a part of the Arise community, and your patience and understand as we pioneer this return back to the studio <3

Brooklyn
3 3 3 3 3
Aug 2, 2021
Brooklyn

Front desk is friendly. Studio is dirty. My white socks got really dark fast. I especially don't like that you have to put your belongings on cubbies where people also put their shoes.

It's my first visit and the first teacher I had was unprofessional and judgmental. I clearly heard her telling the front desk staff that "if someone looks weird, just kick them out." That really wasn't welcoming to hear and it makes me think if I look weird and she was referring to me... Not really a good yoga experience. Studio is filled to the point where you have to think about how close your classmates are before you can do the pose.

Arise Yoga Brooklyn comment

Hello David,

I’d love to address these concerns, and ensure that you have all the clarity you need to continue having a great experience at Arise. I assure you our front desk does an amazing job of cleaning the studio and props after classes, even sanitizing the cubbies.  I would like to address your last concern. I'm sure you felt disappointed and discouraged at hearing that remark made by our staff. It sounds like there had been a recent shooting on the street, and our front desk staff was concerned with how to handle any possible threat to the studio. The evaluation made on how to distinguish between people was not aligned with our core values of nonviolent communication and inclusion, and I've made sure they keep this in mind. Thank you for being a part of the Arise community, and your patience and understanding as we pioneer this return back to the studio.

Brooklyn, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Aug 1, 2021
Brooklyn, NY USA

Today was my first of a foreseeable many classes at Arise! The studio space is peaceful and serene, exactly what one wants when choosing to spend time on the mat with minimal distractions. Claudia brought us through a purposeful flow with calm and clear directions. The restorative poses and music to close practice made me feel like I was floating on a cloud and I didn’t want to leave! Thank you so much

Arise Yoga Brooklyn comment

Hello Lara !
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful experience!

5 5 5 5 5
Aug 1, 2021

Fantastic class by a fantastic teacher. Quamay made it easy to laugh through the sturggles of my tight muscles and difficult poses. I will def join another of his classes soon. Thank oyu for a great practice.

Arise Yoga Brooklyn comment

Hello Jen !

We love Quamay, too. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

Brooklyn, NY USA
5 5 5 5 5
Jul 28, 2021
Brooklyn, NY USA

Alex’s powerful vinyasa class was a gorgeous way to start the day, just the right amount of movement and stretching to get my body moving. Loved her very helpful adjustment suggestions that helped me learn a little more about my practice.

Arise Yoga Brooklyn comment

Hello Grainne,

We are thrilled to have you apart of this abundant community!

3 3 3 3 3
Jul 26, 2021

I've now taken three classes at the studio, two with Claudia and one with Adriana. They are both knowledgable instructors who conducted solid yoga classes. I have no complaints about the instructors themselves.

I really wanted to like this place since I live 3 blocks away and was really looking forward to in-person yoga again, but I have some complaints about the physical space. It looks really nice and is spacious, but there was a rat taking a comfortable stroll around the courtyard like it owned the place. I know there is a rat problem throughout the whole city right now, but I see another review that mentions rats, indicating that this was not the first rat to visit the courtyard. There has to be something that can be done to address this. I know rats are part of nature, but they are a public health threat and seeing them hang out in the courtyard outside your yoga class makes people uncomfortable.  

In addition, the studio was unnecessarily warm, which I guess some people like, but I did not sign up for hot yoga. Air conditioning in the summer should be the default. In fairness, the instructor did turn the air conditioning on when requested, but it takes awhile for the room to cool off to a comfortable temperature. I got sweat all over the floor - I sure hope they mop up between sessions. I did my best to clean it up with spray and a rag.

Maybe I'll return when the weather cools off, but I'll likely stick to virtual yoga sessions at home where I am in control of the temperature and the only other mammal that is here (that I know of) is a cat.

Arise Yoga Brooklyn comment

Hi Michelle!

We've done as much as we can to mitigate the pest problem in the backyard, including having an exterminator come and set traps. The tricky thing is that we don't know whether our neighbors are also doing their part, so it makes this battle a bit harder for us. As it stands, there haven't been any critters back there in the past few weeks, and we're excited to resume classes outside in September! We've also been using our AC inside since it got hot and humid. And we do mop between classes, so you can rest assured that we keep the studio as clean as possible. We'd love to see you return when it feels right for you!

Cheers,
Jillian

Owner

Brooklyn
3 3 3 3 3
Jul 17, 2021
Brooklyn

Great to have in person yoga classes again! But the physical space leaves a lot to be desired. There were rats running around in the courtyard, which adds a nice natural aspect to class if you like to watch them while practicing. In some parts of the studio the music is way too loud. The decor is also very much not my style; I don't know why but the disembodied leaves "mural" just irks me deeply. And the main reason I won't return: the floor is very hard, a thin layer of wood finish over concrete, which is not good for your wrists.

Brooklyn
5 5 5 5 5
Jul 14, 2021
Brooklyn

Haven't practiced in well over a year - what a beautiful space and atmosphere to start again!

Brooklyn, NY USA
4 4 4 4 4
Jul 12, 2021
Brooklyn, NY USA

Just left Alex's Flow and Unwind class, and it was a great fit for me. Shes super informed about the physicality of each pose and gave a ton of guidance on protecting our lower backs while focusing on opening up the hip flexors. This made a huge difference for me since I've been recovering from an injury and have hurt my back in the past. Her pilates background helped me feel assured that she would know how to guide me in a way that I wouldn't be reinjured, and now I feel totally warm and in my body. Appreciate the class and am looking forward to trying out the other teachers, and would definitely Italy return to Alex's flow.

Brooklyn
4 4 4 4 4
Jun 29, 2021
Brooklyn

I enjoyed the Sunday 8pm class. I just wish it was outside in the backyard since the weather was nice. If it is going to be indoors, I would love the have the A/C on in the studio as last time it was very hot.


Pages: 1 2 ... 5
 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Aug 1, 2021

Fantastic class by a fantastic teacher. Quamay made it easy to laugh through the sturggles of my tight muscles and difficult poses. I will def join another of his classes soon. Thank oyu for a great practice.