Yoga Circle

Yoga Studio  in Chicago , IL

401 W. Ontario #210
Chicago , IL , 60654
Yoga Studio in Chicago, IL

Yoga Circle

Get directions 401 W. Ontario #210
 
Add to favourites
Chicago , IL , 60654
 
Add to favourites
Share on:
Facebook Twitter
Please  log in,  to write a review for this location...

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Chicago, IL
Feb 11, 2014

This is not your typical yoga in the city! Gabriel is an incredibly talented instructor who uses the appropriate amount of mantras, dharma, mudras, alignment adjustments, and a proper savasana. Leave your expectations at the door before you start class because Gabriel will surprise, inspire, and challenge you while you experience and appreciate each moment for what it is (and what it is not).

9 Total Reviews
5 5 5 5 5
9 Reviews
Write a review
Show: Latest

Chicago
5 5 5 5 5
Dec 16, 2014
Chicago

This is the third time I have been to Yoga Circle.  I first attended over 10 years ago because my Iyengar teacher at the time was Gabriel Halpern’s student.  I recently have returned because I have changed employment and I bought a Groupon that allowed up to 5 visits to Yoga Circle.

I have practiced yoga fairly regularly for 19 years.  I have attended classes at Moksha, Nature, Bloom, Corepower, Bikram, SatNam, Bally’s, Bikram, GoTime, Nature, Om on the Range, and Kriya in Chicago.  I try out places when I travel as well.

First the bad news…the location is hard to get to (for me anyway) and the hours that Gabriel teaches do not fit into a regular workday.  
Now the great news…it is a two hour class that feels short because you are learning, engaging and interacting in meaningful ways with your teacher, the history of yoga through the teachings of Iyengar, and with the other students in the class.  There are all types of props to help get into proper alignment including: blankets, bolsters (in many shapes), blocks, mats, ropes attached to the wall and folding chairs.

If you are serious about yoga but have never practiced Iyengar yoga then you have skipped what I consider to be the foundations of a healthy and informed lifelong yoga discipline.  Iyengar breaks down the postures to minute detail, where to lift, what is in line, where to feel the breath and more.

If you have ever done shoulder stand without the Iyengar setup of props then you are missing out.  The combination of blankets, mat and sometimes folding chair allows the practitioner to get into a more perfect form without the usual strain in the neck.  You’ve got to try it!

Gabriel has been teaching a long time.  He has experience with accommodating injuries.  You will sweat, chant, be challenged, be humbled, laugh and feel invigorated.  After class there is a tea station that includes, healthy fruit and tea and healthy-in-moderation chocolate and cookies!

I have only ever taken class from Gabriel at Yoga Circle.  It is his studio.  I have taken class from some of his students at other studios around Chicago and they too are wonderful showing that Gabriel Halpern has done a service to the future by passing on his knowledge.

Arlington Heights, IL USA
5 5 5 5 5
Nov 13, 2014
Arlington Heights, IL USA

I also enjoyed my second class with Gabriel in this wonderful and welcoming studio. I got new challenges for my body and mind. All the exercises were different to the last session. That's great!

Arlington Heights, IL USA
5 5 5 5 5
Nov 11, 2014
Arlington Heights, IL USA

This class is really different. But awesome!!! You get a deeper knowledge of yoga through small but smart stories as well as you will exercise the asanas in a totally unusual way with tools. This leads to a deeper understanding of the asanas, increases your body awareness and you can also profit from the nice atmosphere and yoga partners. It definitely changes your journey of yoga. I can highly recommend this class and of course Gabriel who will teach and surprise you!

Chicago
5 5 5 5 5
May 3, 2014
Chicago

sure seems like dedicated folks working or training  here

Chicago
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 11, 2014
Chicago

This is not your typical yoga in the city! Gabriel is an incredibly talented instructor who uses the appropriate amount of mantras, dharma, mudras, alignment adjustments, and a proper savasana. Leave your expectations at the door before you start class because Gabriel will surprise, inspire, and challenge you while you experience and appreciate each moment for what it is (and what it is not).

Chicago
5 5 5 5 5
Feb 4, 2014
Chicago

Wonderful. Very welcoming and non judgmental class with very clear instruction so as to get the most benefit without injury. I took Yoga 1 & 2. Slow moving, with props, really focusing on lengthening and proper alignment.  I didn't really even break a sweat in this class, but felt absolutely wonderful throughout and at the end. A gentle feeling with laughter embues the class ~ I liked that very much.

Chicago
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 28, 2014
Chicago

This studio accomplishes true yoga teachings. Honest, real instructors that are beyond knowledgable about the anatomy and physiology of the body, along with the meditative, awareness teachings. Other studios typically weigh either the body or the mind more heavily... not here. Awesome!!!

Lombard
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 14, 2014
Lombard

The Gentle class is so great! Its more like a personalized yoga therapy class! Every student gets their own teacher while Gabriel conducts.  This class is great for every body and any body. Most of the students are there to recover from injury.  Such a great, positive healing environment.  All ages, all shapes and sizes, some even have prosthetic limbs.  I love this class!

Lombard
5 5 5 5 5
Jan 7, 2014
Lombard

The best, truest yoga instruction in the Chicago area! Dharma talk, meditation, optimal alignment based, and a proper savasana (final relaxation).  Instructors the most knowledgeable about anatomy and alignment that I have ever met.  Great postural adjustments.  Minimum of 3 qualified teachers walking the room to make sure everyone is "getting it".  Wall ropes, slings, and props so "everybody" can access every yoga pose.  The tops!


 

Featured review

Featured review
5 5 5 5 5
Chicago, IL
Feb 11, 2014

This is not your typical yoga in the city! Gabriel is an incredibly talented instructor who uses the appropriate amount of mantras, dharma, mudras, alignment adjustments, and a proper savasana. Leave your expectations at the door before you start class because Gabriel will surprise, inspire, and challenge you while you experience and appreciate each moment for what it is (and what it is not).

Business Hours *

Yoga Studio HOURS*

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
10am - 7pm
10am - 8:45pm
10am - 7pm
10am - 7pm
7am - 7pm
9am - 12:30pm
10am - 5:30pm
* Holiday Schedules Vary - Please contact us for more info